Good Grades and a Pita Baby

Standard

Well.  Three finals done, one more to go.  And it looks like I pulled off an A all-around in chemistry!  I managed to score an A on my final exam, which honestly really surprised me, because I missed the review session due to being in the hospital and didn’t study much on my own because of those smokin’ hot Dallas Mavericks.  :)  I did work hard this semester, and I’m so glad that things are finally wrapping up.  Unless I bomb tomorrow’s final, I’ll be finishing strong and getting As in all four classes.  :D  B has done well in his classes, too, and he will proudly walk the stage this Saturday to accept a well-deserved accounting degree.  I’m so excited for him! 

***

Mother’s Day was a lot of fun.  I did some yoga and just kind of lazed about for the first part of the day, and enjoyed some leftover Indian-style sweet potato salad, sautéed squash and a poached egg topped with hummus for lunch.  I’m obsessed with softly poaching an egg and slathering it in hummus, I tell ya.  It is my new favorite thang and I can’t get enough! 

I love when leftovers come together to create a delicious and easy meal!

Yesterday afternoon we trucked it to my sweet Gram’s house.  The entire family got sucked into the Mavs game, and it was awesome to see such an incredible sweep.  Jason Terry is my favorite player, not only for his mad ballin’ skills, but because of those damn socks that he pulls up to his knees.  For some reason that makes me like him more.  :)  We decided to keep the family shindig relatively hassle-free, so instead of sitting down to any kind of formal meal, we all just brought some kind of snack over to my Gram’s house, and we all drank wine and nibbled while hanging out and watching the game.  It was a lot of fun! 

My mom surprised me with Tina Fey’s new book, Bossypants, which I wasn’t expecting at all.  (Thanks, Mom!)

My boys made me a key chain out of a domino!  I could not love it more!  It looks kind of vintage-y, which is awesome.  Best Mother’s Day gift ever… :D

So, so sweet.  They were really excited to give it to me, too, which is the cutest thing in the world.

***

For dinner last night, B and I made Chicken Tikka Paninis.  They were amazing.  We used our usual multigrain ciabatta rolls (toasted and garlic-rubbed, of course):

Topped them with mango chutney and yogurt sauce…

A giant handful of spinach…

And the gloriously tender and flavorful leftover Chicken Tikka from Friday night…

ANYTHING can be made into a panini.  Anything!  It is definitely my favorite way to use leftovers, if you haven’t noticed.  ;)

Good grief, this was so damn good.

***

Today was the first day that I didn’t have to wake up early and drive to campus.  We got to take our time in the morning, and after I dropped the tots at daycare I studied briefly and took my next to last exam.  Afterward I was in the mood for a butt-kicking cardio workout, so I opted for the step and low-impact HiiT premix from Intensity (premix #6).  I was sweating buckets and beet red in the face when it was over, and it felt great.  I’m really looking forward to starting STS at the end of the month!  Besides STS, I have two other workouts that are still in their wrappers: Low-impact Circuit and Body Max2.  I just didn’t have time during the end of this crazy-busy semester to watch these through so that I could actually do them.  I’ll have all the time in the world later this week and for the next few months!  :D

***

After my workout and a shower I was craving another poached egg- I know!  I know!  I really can’t get enough!  I decided to roll with a big salad that consisted of spinach, baby carrots, snap peas, sweet yellow cherry tomatoes, sliced green onion, chickpeas, a runny poached egg, roasted pine nut hummus and balsamic vinaigrette.

I love chickpeas.  So, so much.  This was the best salad I’ve thrown together in a long time.

***

Dinner tonight was something… what’s the word… epic?  Incredible?  Gloooooorious?  I need to expand my vocabulary, obv.  :)

We made “Steak ‘Em Up Pitas” from page 129 of Rachael Ray’s newest magazine issue, and they were so good that I wanted to cry.

Really.

We modified the recipe slightly and scaled it down for two.  We used:

  • Oat bran pitas
  • two 5-ounce (before cooking) filet mignon
  • baby spinach
  • 1 garlic clove, chopped
  • 2 T. mayonnaise
  • 4 T. prepared horseradish sauce (the recipe calls for 2 T. horseradish, drained, but we accidentally bought horseradish sauce.  So, I doubled the amount of this stuff to pack extra horseradish flavor)
  • 1/4 c. Greek yogurt (we used nonfat because that’s all I could find)
  • 1 medium yellow onion
  • sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • extra-virgin olive oil

 

Slice the onion into rounds, brush with olive oil, and season with salt and pepper.

Heat a grill pan over medium heat and grill the onions until golden, around 10 minutes.

Remove to a plate or bowl and set aside.  In a small bowl, mix together the horseradish, mayonnaise, garlic, and Greek yogurt. 

Set aside.  Pat the filet mignon dry, brush with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Grill over a medium to medium-high flame until done to your liking- we like our steaks RARE.  :D 

Remove to a cutting board and let rest for five minutes.  Meanwhile, heat the pitas in the grill pan until warm (not crispy!).

Remove from heat and slice the top third off the top of the each pita.  Slice the filet mignon into thin strips.

Spread some of the horseradish-mayo on the inside of the pita pockets.  Stuff with the grilled onions, baby spinach, and sliced steak.  Top with more spinach, onions and a dollop of the horseradish-mayo.  Run to the table, because you can’t wait to dig into this bad Johnny…

OH MAH GAH are you kidding me?  Take a bite already!

If this meal sounds good to you, I promise it is even better than you could ever imagine: the soft, warm pita bread filled with sweet caramelized onions, the creamy tang and kick of heat from the horseradish-mayo, a slight crunch and burst of bright color from the spinach, and the tender, juicy, bacon-infused strips of steak… my GAWD, people.  This was simply amazing.  And easy.  And quick!  B and I both left the table smiling big goofy smiles from total and complete dinner satisfaction.  :D

***

We leave for Sequim, WA a week from tomorrow!  I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am.  We leave the 17th and come back the 23rd, and it is going to be the best vacation ever.  I can’t wait to see my Aunt and Uncle, to run in the snow-topped mountains of Sequim, to just relax and unwind and spend lots of time outdoors, to sleep in and linger over meals and not really have to worry about much else.  I’m really excited about vacation blogging, too!  I’m already making a mental list of the things I need to bring, and at the forefront of my exercise-obsessed mind are my Nike running shoes, my Travel Fit dvd and resistance band.  Back in my dieting days when I exercised for no other reason than to burn calories, a vacation away from my normal workout gear would send me into a fit of panic.  I’m so glad that isn’t the case anymore!  I really look at traveling as a chance to try new things, and I’m definitely going to take advantage of the cool outdoor temperatures of Washington and the breath-taking scenery.  I’m especially excited about getting outside and just letting my feet take me away.  I don’t usually run much anymore, but running in Texas and running in the gorgeous hills of green, cool, mountainous Sequim are definitely not the same thing.  That plus my Travel Fit dvd, some power yoga, hiking and whatever else we get into will definitely keep me moving.  I am STOKED.  :)

I’m going to go digest my pita baby and relax with my new book.  Have a fantastic night! 

xooxxoo,

Sara

2 responses »

  1. Oh my – the steak pitas look amazing. I have problems finding decent bread where I am – any pitas I can get are usually dry by default and crack open when filling :(

  2. Charles, these pitas actually started leaking with steak & onion juice after a few bites, and eventually we had to knife and fork it because they pretty much fell apart. B suggested that next time we “double pita it”, but I don’t mind a messy meal like that at all. :D Still, dry bread is no good. I think these were just a little too flimsy to handle the amount of filling that we stuffed into them!

Leave a Reply

