Hot Texas Weather + Not-Sausage

Standard

Today we finally took the kids to the pool for the first time this summer.  The community that we live in has a private pool, and it definitely comes in handy during the hot Texas summer afternoons when outdoor activities that don’t involve water are simply out of the question.  The temperature has been at 100+ degrees for a while now, and with the humidity and merciless sun beating down on you, a parent would have to have some kind of death wish to suggest an afternoon park outing or trip to the zoo.  Or maybe it’s just me?  Kids seem to have some kind of super human resistance to the heat, but I absolutely hate it.  We took the kids to another mall play land yesterday afternoon, and I was wearing a cotton sun dress.  This particular play land is located on the third (top) floor of the mall directly under eleventy-billion skylights o’ death, and it was so hot that the minute the back of my bare thighs met the vinyl bench seating, an ocean of sweat began to pool underneath me.  I know, totally sexy, right?  You should have seen the incredibly fashionable wet spot on my rear when we went to leave.  The whole ordeal nearly caused me to have a total nervous breakdown- 45 kids running around together in a relatively small fenced-in space, jumping and laughing and pushing and climbing and crawling and sliding and going generally insane, their parents watching and hanging on for dear life nearby, pitifully heat-stroked and slumped over on the vinyl wrap-around bench of great discomfort, fanning themselves with old grocery lists.

Geez, I need a drink of water just thinking about it.  Today’s pool excursion was a pleasant one, despite the fact that I am a striking shade of jellyfish.  B is a pretty pasty white dude- we are both extremely fair-skinned and burn at the mere thought of the sun- so together we make quite the couple when sporting our bathing suits out in public.  I go back and forth with the idea of laying out for just a few minutes a couple of times per week to give a touch of color to my unsightly pallor, but as a future health educator I know better, dammit.  I take comfort in knowing that all those tanning addicts out there will likely look like old catchers mitts in a good ten years or so, and hopefully my sunscreen devotion and general avoidance of the sun in general will prove to have been the smart choice, aging-wise.  In the meantime, if you catch me at the pool and are blinded by my offensive whiteness (I’m pretty much clear), please know that I am aware.  I know that I am a super white chick- the Queen of Pale- and if you come too close I might assault you with some SPF 70.

***

Some recent eats…

Poached egg on toast with a little Earth Balance spread, nectarine, and unpictured iced coffee.

***

Friday’s dinner: Chana Masala!

This was so good I could hardly stand it, not to mention ridiculously easy.

DIY madras masala spice mix (ground coriander, cumin, cayenne, turmeric, paprika and garam masala)…

Onion and tomatoes

Madras masala sauce.

Add chickpeas and water and let simmer, and you’ve got dinner!  Topped with on-the-fly cucumber raita and chopped fresh cilantro…

Plus grilled whole-wheat naan!

I nearly licked the bowl clean.  :)

It was so very easy, spicy, warm, comforting and just plain delicious.  Not exactly a summer meal, but ridiculously good nonetheless.  It had been way too long since I’d had Indian food!  Any Indian food lover would go nuts for this, I think.  :)

***

Saturday’s simple yet delicious lunch: oat bran pita spread with hummus, layered with dill havarti cheese, and stuffed with spinach, arugula, red bell pepper strips and zucchini rounds.

***

Saturday’s dinner- FADI’S!!!  I rolled with the Vegetarian Sampler (rice, tabbouleh, hummus, couscous, roasted cauliflower and epplant, plus spinach and mushroom salad).

And whole-wheat pita bread, of course (B had the regular)…

They have the best warm, thick, fluffy, fresh pita bread ever.

B had the Create Your Own Plate with one meat and two sides…

Cauliflower, Greek salad and roasted potatoes

And roasted chicken- he has said more than once that it’s the best restaurant chicken he has ever had.

***

Lunch today: leftover Fadi’s!

I always make it a point to bring some of my meal home when we dine at Fadi’s so that I can enjoy it all over again the next day.  It’s my all-time fave Mediterranean place, mos’ def.  Fresh, delicious, and inexpensive.  Hits the spot each and every time.

***

Lets talk about this week’s menu, shall we?  :D  It’s a good one…

Sunday: Tonight B cooked.  Last night after Fadi’s we swung by Whole Foods to pick up some of these vegan sausages that caught our eye the other day while we were there.  B bought the Italian flavor, and they were phenomenal.  Seriously, I was totally impressed.  Check out the ingredients and nutrition stats here!  (Hello, eggplant and fennel!  I can’t wait to have the leftover not-sausage for lunch!)  B grilled the “sausages” on the outdoor grill and we ate them in soft wheat buns with Vegenaise.  (I added some dijon mustard to mine, YUM.)  B also made baked parmesan zucchini fries again.  They were so good and are quickly becoming one of my favorite side dishes for burgers and such in place of regular french fries.  I added a side salad of arugula, spinach, chopped red bell pepper and honey mustard dressing to my plate, and it made for a killer meal after an afternoon of swimming. 

LOVE

The meatiest non-meat product I have ever consumed!  Those fennel seeds gave it incredible flavor.  I’m anxious to try the Smoked Apple Sage flavor now.

Monday: Vegan nachos!  We’ll top blue corn tortilla chips with vegetarian refried beans, jalapeno rings, chopped bell pepper, green onion, and this vegan nacho cheese sauce.  I am STOKED.  :D

Tuesday: OSG’s Lentil & Rice Protein Bowl.  This looks DIVINE- that Tahini-Lemon Dressing is gonna rock my world!  (Plus, I like to say tahini…)

Wednesday: Girl’s dinner with my dessert-whiz-math-genius sista E, my Mom, and M.  :D  I’m making these Black Bean and Summer Squash Enchiladas, M is bringing tortilla chips and her homemade guacamole, Mom is making a side salad, and E is bringing dessert.  I can’t wait!  It should be a great time.

Thursday: OSG’s Lime & Black Bean Salad with some grilled shrimp on the side.  NUMS.

Friday: Daily Garnish’s Veggie Masala Burgers with a side of Alexia fries.  These burgers look wicked-good to me and I can’t wait to make (and eat!) them.  It will be my first attempt at making a veggie burger from scratch.

Saturday: ???

Alright peeps, I’m out.  I have to wake up an hour early every day this week because the kids are going to Vacation Bible School, and I need to get some rest.  Actually I’m going to go eat a cookie and watch The Shield, but I’ll definitely hit the sack after that.  ;)

G’night!

xo,

S.

2 responses »

  1. Well, at least you’re having good weather – our “summer” seems to have completely disappeared and now it’s just raining non-stop :(

    You remind me though, I have a packet of vegan sausages myself which need to be used up sometime too. They can be really good!

  2. Pingback: Kiddie Food + More Cheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeze « Food, Fitness, Life & Love

Leave a Reply

