Drunken Cake & Breaking News

Standard

Hey there.  How ya been?  Last night’s vegetable enchiladas with vegan cheeze sauce turned out great!  M brought homemade guacamole with blue corn tortilla chips, Mom made a corn, red onion and cilantro salad, and my sis made a margarita cake that was crazy-good.

The ‘ladas came together in about thirty minutes- super easy.  Here they are, ready to bake!  (That naked enchilada along the side was for my sis, who is not a fan of veggies.)

The rest were filled and covered with lime and cumin-infused black beans, sautéed squash, onion, and bell pepper.

And smothered in vegan nacho cheeeeeeeze:)

The guac that rocked:

Blue corn tortilla chips:

Two crazy-cute kids:

Dinner is served!  :D

The enchiladas were really good, if I do say so myself.  That nacho cheeze sauce was a hit with everyone, too- even my picky sis!  :D

Mom’s corn-cilantro-red onion salad:

And then, there was CAKE…

MARGARITA CAKE.  (It had tequila in it, because my sister is a freakin’ genius.)

I really hate the word moist (I’m a weirdo), but this cake was almost pudding-like.  Sweet, tangy, fluffy…

perfect.

I drank too much wine, as usual.  Which brings me to this SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT………..

*ahem*

(Do you know what’s coming?)

I’ve quit drinking.

(!!!)

For 30 days.  (I’m not completely batshit crazy.)

An annoying, nagging little voice inside my head has been urging me to do this for a while now, but I could always drown it out with more vino.  It’s no secret that drinking is perfectly fine IN MODERATION, but I really have the tendency to go overboard.  I do not like that about myself.  I tried to master the Intuitive Drinking thing, and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t.  Bottom line: my body and my mind just need a break.  Period, end of story, done deal.  And by telling you guys about my commitment, I feel even more determined to stick to the plan and stay strong.

I’m not sure what will happen on Day 31, but I guess we will see when we get there.  To some people (most people?) this would not be a big deal at all.  The fact that the mere thought of not getting to have a glass or five of wine for thirty whole days sent me into a fit of panic probably indicates that I am making the right decision.  I can do this- I’m not an alcoholic, I assure you.  But I do like wine a little too much and I look forward to drinking it a little too much.  If I am to be a well-balanced, happy, fit, *truly healthy* person, I don’t think I should be so dependent on outside influences in order to have a good time or unwind or whatever.

Anyone care to join me?

(WHERE DID EVERYBODY GO?)

:)  I intend to write about my no-drinking experiences and sober thoughts a few times per week, so stay tuned.  I suspect that I will be happier, healthier, and in a better place mentally 30 days from now, $3 bottles of cheap Whole Foods wine be DAMNED.

***

Dinner tonight was great!  The menu: Cajun-seasoned shrimp, OSG’s Avocado-Lime Black Bean Salad with diced jalapeno, and a side salad of spinach, tomato, zucchini, more avocado, and balsamic vinaigrette.

Simple, delicious, and healthy.

The black bean salad was especially good.  I love the combination of cumin, lime, avocado, cilantro and black beans.

***

I started reading Skinny Bitch today.  Have you guys read this thing?  Not everyone would agree, but I’m really digging it!  I love the authors’ bitchy, cuss-like-a-sailor, no-bullshit writing a lot.  I was also impressed with the amount of scientific research and supporting evidence that the girls cite and discuss throughout the book.  One of the two authors hold a Masters degree in Holistic Nutrition, and the book reflects that.  It’s a really easy read- I’m nearly half-way through already.  Maybe it’s the cussing.  ;)  Favorite quote so far: “Health is Wealth makes fake buffalo wings that taste so good, your pubes will fall out.”

Yup.  There’s also a chapter called “Don’t Be a Pussy”, one that reads “Pooping”, and another named “Have No Faith: Governmental Agencies Don’t Give a Shit About Your Health”.  That should tell you whether or not this book is for you right away.  :)  I say go for it!  Good stuff.  I’m trying to convince B to read their newest book, Skinny Bastard.

You may be wondering, based on my recent switch to a more plant-based diet, my new-found interest in vegan/vegetarian cooking, and book-worming it up with reads like Skinny Bitch and The Omnivore’s Dilemma, if I’ve given up pork/poultry/meat.  I didn’t intend to or plan on it, but I guess I kind of have.  The last time I ate meat was last Monday, when my sis was over for dinner.  Since then my appetite for red meat, pork and poultry has vanished, and I have never felt better in my life, or been more excited about my food.  Seafood is another story- I have no interest in giving that up at the mo’- but it looks like I’m going meat-free otherwise.  So that makes me… not quite a vegetarian.  A flexitarian?  I like the way that sounds.  :)

Meat-less and wine-less.  What’s the world coming to?

See ya tomorrow- my first wine-free Friday in… um, ever:)

(B is still drinking, in case you were wondering, and that’s just fine with me.  He’s also still eating meat occasionally, and that’s totally cool too!  Fortunately we are good at compromising.  Long live Team BS!)

xo,

Sara

6 responses »

  1. Those enchilladas look wonderful, and the cake too – do you never feel “cheated” by ring cakes though? I always end up thinking “hey, where’s my centre?” :D

    Congrattles on the quitting drinking for 30 days. I do think that there’s nothing wrong with drinking in moderation, but it’s true that society in general has a tendency to go a bit crazy… take a look at the bars where I’m from in the UK on a Saturday night as an example :( I drink very little myself – I prefer to reserve my drinking for when I have something really good to enjoy – a really good cognac or red wine etc – and even then it takes me ages to finish the bottle.

    • See, I like that. A drink to celebrate something awesome, or around the dinner table with family during the holidays, etc. I started “celebrating” just for making it through the day. I just need to chill out and stop completely for a bit. I woke up today feeling really positive and upbeat, and I feel good about this decision. :D And ya know, you’re right! There must be, like, at least one big piece of cake missing from the middle of those rings! ROBBERY! ;)

  2. Pingback: No More Wine-ing « Food, Fitness, Life & Love

  3. Pingback: Whole-wheat Pastry Flour and the 30-Day Home Stretch « Inside & Out

  4. Pingback: Dear Red Wine, « Inside & Out

  5. Pingback: Reminders « Inside & Out

Leave a Reply

