No More Wine-ing

Standard

Happy weekend!  How’s it going?  We just got back from E’s first official karate tournament.  He had a good time, and I’m very proud of him.  :)

He got 2nd place in chambara…

And 3rd place in both forms and sparring.

Here he is doing forms:

And here he is adjusting his, uh, man bits.  :(

He did this about 9,435 times during every event.  It was only his second time wearing *that* kind of protection, and the poor guy could not keep his hands away from his junk.  I felt really bad for him so B and I both offered on several occasions to help him adjust things or just take the guard out altogether, but he refused.  I’m hoping he will grow into it, get used to it… I don’t know.  At the very least lets pray that he figures out a much more subtle way to adjust the goods.  (Man, I hope so.)

***

Food has been great!  (I’m quite certain that there is just no easy way to transition from talk of scrotum discomfort to what I had for breakfast, heh.)  I’m still lovin’ the plant-based diet thing and after watching that horrible meat.org video (I’m sure you’ve seen it, but if not please watch with caution!  The images and sounds are truly horrific, and it really sent me over the edge), I’ve given up all meat/poultry/pork.  I’m still eating seafood (though it isn’t as appealing after watching that video!), eggs, and some diary, but I’ve replaced regular mayo and butter with vegan versions and now drink Silk almond milk instead of cow’s milk (turns out I prefer Silk’s to Almond Breeze).  I’m not going to be all pain-in-the-assy about my new food preferences (I won’t be refusing baked goods offered to me that were made with real butter, for example), and the only rule I really don’t want to break is not eating meat.  I have no desire to give up shrimp or salmon and my many other seafood favorites, but I can certainly research which kinds are the best for both me and the environment and where to buy them (anyone have any good tips?).  Also, cheese and ice cream are two things I’m not sure I could live without.  I definitely recognize the plethora of health and environmental benefits of living a vegan lifestyle, but lets just back the truck up here and GET REAL.  Giving up meat is huge for me, I feel great about it, and that’s enough- for me- for now.  Besides, there’s that wine thing, too…

…which brings me to yesterday, Day 2 of No Drinking.

I brewed some strong green tea, let it chill for a bit, then poured it over ice and added some lemon slices.  It was actually really satisfying and refreshing!  Thursday was a bummer, because I really wanted a glass of red before dinner, but yesterday was easy.  I think having something special like this to sip on helped to ease the pain of not drinking for the first time in ages on a Friday night.  This evening has been a little different, though.  B is sipping his delightful glass of red, and I made the same green tea concoction as yesterday (only I added a little sugar in the raw this time, for sweetness).  Truth be told, I’m dying for a glass of Shiraz.  We plan on going out for pizza at this joint in a bit, and then we’re heading to a friend’s house where there will be drinking.  I need to be a big girl, quit sulking and remember why I’m doing this in the first place.  I DON’T need wine (or other booze) to have fun, and it’s not good for me to drink all the damn time.  Period.  Suck it up, sista!

(*sob*)

Where was I?  Ah yes, FOOD!  :D

Friday morning’s nectarine oatmeal with almond butter, agave nectar, Greek yogurt and cinnamon.

Friday’s lunch, a lentil, rice and veggie bowl.  It was really good and easy!  I took some leftover lentils and rice that I had in the fridge from last week’s tahini-lemon rice & lentil bowl (I had cooked more than the recipe called for, which ended up coming in very handy for future meals!), mixed it with a generous blob of garlic hummus, and then added sautéed broccoli, zucchini, and spinach.  It was tasty, filling and took about 10 minutes to pull together.  I will be doing this again!  I think garlic hummus might have magical powers.  :)

Last night I made DG’s Vegetable Masala Burgers and they roooooooooooooooooooooockedSo good!  Like, a thousand times better than frozen store-bought veggie burgers, and they contained nothing but oats, vegetables, olive oil and spices.  Seriously, seriously delish.  Get the full recipe with step-by-step pics here!

Basically, you saute a bunch of veggies (edamame, carrot, potato and corn) until soft.  Process in a food processor with some ground oats, olive oil, and Indian spices (YUM!), then form into patties…

…and fry in a little olive oil on the stove top in a skillet.

So easy!  And soooooooooooooo good.  *drool*  I want another one RIGHT NOW.  I nixed the bun on mine and ate it with a fork topped with some Vegenaise, dijon mustard and sliced avocado, along with a side of our favorite sweet potato fries and a simple spinach and balsamic salad.

Oh, and lots of ketchup for dipping, of course.  (Ketchup is my all-time favorite condiment, hands down.  Tie between dijon and Vegenaise for second place!)  The patties held together beautifully during cooking and came out crisp and golden on the outside and soft and almost creamy on the inside.  We have leftovers and will be having this exact same meal again tomorrow night, because it was THAT good.  :)

We’ve been running around all day so I haven’t taken any food pics… yet.  ;)  I definitely plan to take some of my pizza dinner!  For breakfast I enjoyed OSG’s Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Vegan Overnight Oats for the first time and hot damn, they were good.  My favorite version of Vegan Overnight Oats to date!  Lunch was a bowl of leftover black beans, enchilada veggies and spinach, heated and topped with a spoonful of Greek yogurt, sliced avocado, and lots of hot salsa, with a folded Ezekiel sprouted grain tortilla on the side for scooping.

***

I’m off to put the youngest tot to bed and head out for a night of pizza and friends.  I hope your evening is glorious!  :D  Drink one for me, will ya? 

xo,

Sara

PS- I finished Skinny Bitch yesterday and plan to review it soon!  :D  If you’ve read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Pizza Heaven & Sobriety x 2 « Food, Fitness, Life & Love

  2. Pingback: Holy Food Pics! « Food, Fitness, Life & Love

  3. Pingback: Weekend Recap « Food, Fitness, Life & Love

  4. Pingback: Dear Red Wine, « Inside & Out

Leave a Reply

