Pizza Heaven & Sobriety x 2

Standard

Yo.  :)  We just got back from an afternoon at the splash ground, and it was a lot of fun!  A good way to beat this ridiculous heat, soak up some sunshine and burn off a little energy.  Despite my best SPF-slathering efforts, I’m actually starting to see a little color in my Casper-white complexion.  Those rays will kill you dead!  ;)

Last night’s dinner at Schiano’s Pizza rocked my face off.  We split an order of their Greek salad…

…which they served in two separate bowls without us even having to ask.  It was the perfect mix of lettuce, feta cheese, tomato, and olives with yummy balsamic vinaigrette on the side.  WIN.  In true Team BS fashion we had drooled over the online menu for a bit earlier in the afternoon, so we already knew what we were going to order before we got there.  We rolled with a deep dish Sicilian-style pizza with just cheese and eggplant.  Eggplant!  I nearly wept with joy when I saw that as a topping choice, because I love eggplant and had never had it on pizza before.

IT. WAS. GLORIOUS.

For realzzzzz.

The eggplant was fried, which I didn’t expect, but it was so, so very delicious.  The crust was nice and thick and not nearly as greasy as I had expected it to be- it was more light and airy than anything else.  The tomato sauce had a slight kick to it, and they didn’t go bonkers with the cheese, which I definitely appreciated.  The eggplant was flavorful and crispy and perfect- my gawd, this pizza was ridiculously tasty.

B agreed.  :)

Can you see the sauce on my chin?

Hey, sauce girl, ever hear of a napkin?

We enjoyed half of the pie and brought the rest home, wrapped it up and stuck it in the freezer.  Voila!  Dinner on Tuesday is done.  :D

After our killer feast we rolled over to a friend’s house, where there were snackies and alcohol waiting.  My friend made an appetizer of prosciutto, herb goat cheese and manchego on yummy-looking fancypants crackers, but I was happily sporting a deep dish food child and wasn’t hungry (I would have had to make some prosciutto-free ones for me, anyhow!)…

M was there, and she brought some homemade peanut butter cookies that looked and smelled incredible (you know how much I love dessert!):

But they ended up having bacon in them!  BACON, I say!

Can you see that hunk o’ pork?

I’m a huuuuuge fan of the bacon chocolate bar, so if I were still eating meat I’d have been all ova those things.  Alas, I could not indulge.  ‘Tis the life of a vegetarian.  :)  (Actually, I’m not technically a vegetarian since I still eat fish and seafood, but Kek suggested that I call myself a Veg-aquariun, which I thought was pretty funny.)

While we’re on the subject of things I can’t have, I can proudly say that I held strong last night and didn’t consume a drop of alcohol.  Almost everyone else was drinking, but after a satisfying dinner and then being surrounded by fantastic, hilarious friends, drinking barely crossed my mind.  I had such a good time just talking and laughing and hanging out; it was a great feeling to prove to myself that I really don’t need to drink to loosen up and have fun.  It was also nice to go to bed with a clear head and wake up this morning refreshed, which is not how things usually happen for me on Saturday nights.  I even woke up ready for the day before my alarm went off, which never EVER happens.  I know!  Sickening, right?  ;)

B drank his fair share of wine last night and kept telling me how much he admired me for staying committed to not drinking, and he decided that he wants to abstain from alcohol with me for the remaining 26 days.  I told him that it really was no biggie and that his drinking didn’t bother me (I never asked B to stop drinking with me because I didn’t think it was fair, and I knew that I needed to learn to turn down alcohol even though those around me might be indulging), but he insisted and said that he would really like to share the experience with me.  I told ya before, B is awesome sauce, and he proves it on a regular basis.  LOVE.  :)  :)  :)

***

Today has been good.  After a hearty breakfast (I had this same cereal creation) I kicked things off with some power yoga (I absolutely adore Baron Baptiste!) and then got busy on this week’s menu.  Here it is!

Sunday:  Tonight we had leftovers from Friday- the exact same meal, actually: vegetable masala burgers topped with avocado, Vegenaise and dijon mustard, a spinach side salad with balsamic, and Alexia spicy sweet potato fries with gobs of ketchup.

It was just as good the second time around, and I will be making more of Emily‘s veggie burger recipes in the future, oh yes.  :D

Monday:  My sis is coming for dinner!  I’ll be making OSG’s vegan Tomato Basil Cream Pasta plus a side salad with spinach, grape tomatoes, mini marinated fresh mozzarella balls and balsamic vinaigrette.  This should be good.  :)  My sis is bringing dessert! 

Tuesday:  Leftovers FTW!  We will feast on the remaining cheese & eggplant pizza from last night, plus a spinach side salad.

Wednesday:  B cooks!  Not sure what he’s making yet, but he did mention something about tilapia and the possibility of risotto.  It’s been awhile since we’ve had risotto (NUM).  We’ll see what he comes up with.  :D

Thursday:  Veggie fajitas!  We will grill portobello mushrooms caps, yellow onion, bell pepper and squash and serve it all sliced in warm whole-wheat tortillas with vegan cheeze sauce and avocado.  CAN’T. FREAKIN’. WAIT. 

Friday:  DG’s Mediterranean Quinoa Salad with grilled salmon.  The quinoa sounds incredible and I always love a grilled salmon filet. 

Saturday:  Dinner out, but we don’t know where.

***

I mentioned yesterday that I was going to research where to buy sustainable seafood since I’m eating more of it in lieu of meat.  From WholeLiving.com:

Fish and seafood are excellent sources of lean protein, but not all fish are raised or caught in an environmentally sustainable way. Support eco-friendly fishing by joining a Community Supported Fishery (CSF). Similar to a Community Supported Agriculture share, you pay for a portion of a local fishery’s catch (find out if one is near you at namanet.org). If there’s not, check the Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch program to see which species are safe to eat.

You can even download a Seafood Watch Pocket Guide for your area!  Pretty freakin’ sweet.  Also, check out all the yummy-looking seafood recipes on the Whole Living website.  :)

***

Alright, alright, I’m outta here… Real Housewives of NJ is about to come on.  I will leave you with this.  (Have you guys seen the FoodNetworkHumor.com website?  Holy hell, funny stuff.  It makes me laugh out loud every single time.)

Have a good night!

S.

One response »

  1. Pingback: B,L,D (+ A Book Review: Skinny Bitch!) « Food, Fitness, Life & Love

Leave a Reply

