Weekend Recap

Standard

Hey there party people!  Happy Sunday to all!  It’s a hot nasty in the DEE EFF DUB today.  The kids had a pool and picnic playdate mid-morning, and I could barely stand to set up the kiddie pool- that sun is brutal.  Last night was glorious, but before I get into that, here are some recent eats.  :)

Breakfast on Friday had to include cacao, since I’ve gone cacao-crazy.  I whipped up a Superfood Parfait using banana, plain Greek yogurt, goji berries and cacao nibs.  It was divine!

Here’s the recipe:

Superfood Parfait!

Serves 1

  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt (use soy or other non-dairy yogurt for vegan overnight oats!)
  • 1 tablespoon goji berries
  • 1 tablespoon cacao nibs
  • 1 tablespoon agave nectar
  • 1 very ripe banana

Spoon half the yogurt into the bottom of a glass.  Drizzle with half the agave nectar and sprinkle with 1/2 tablespoon each goji berries and cacao nibs.  Top with half the banana slices.  Repeat layers once more, ending with the banana slices.  Enjoy!

Parfaits are a fun way to jazz up breakfast.  With thick, rich, creamy yogurt and a little sweetener as the base (you could sub honey or pure maple syrup for the agave nectar), you could use any combo of fruit- fresh or frozen berries, chopped peaches or nectarines, even apples chunks- in place of the bananas, and use a variety of nuts, seeds and dried fruit as toppings- sunflower or chia seeds, sliced almonds, crushed macadamia nuts or walnuts would all be fantastic!  This would be good with a juicy, sweet peach, chia seeds and macadamia nuts, or how about a crisp diced apple with cinnamon, raisins and chopped walnuts?  Yes, please.  :D

This breakfast powered me right up for a 3-mile run late Friday morning.  I braved the triple digits once again and was a ridiculously sweaty mess by the time I got home.  I am definitely the most stylish runner in the entire world.  Try not to be too jealous of that damn trucker hat.

Shweaty

(Also, always wear your sunglasses inside to up your coolness factor substantially.)

Friday’s lunch included a new, fun little addition- dry roasted edamame!

 

This was a sweet find at Market Street- only two ingredients (edamame + sea salt), made using non-GMO soybeans, not obnoxiously expensive, and wicked-stellar nutrition stats- a whopping 8 grams of fiber and 14 grams of protein per quarter cup serving.  B has been eating these as a snack straight from the bag, and I sprinkled some on a salad to add a salty, slightly nutty crunch.

It was really good!  I also bought the wasabi kind but haven’t tried those yet.  They have a goji berry blend that I haven’t seen in the store yet.  Very cool.

Dinner Friday night is something that I will be making very often in the future: DG’s Indian Lentils with Spinach and Eggplant.  I am a big fan of one-pot meals for their simplicity and convenience, and this is now my favorite quick, easy, delicious and nutrition-packed comfort food meal.

 

It may not be very photogenic, but trust me when I say that this was absolutely amazing.  I had leftover for lunch this afternoon and added a big blob of creamy Greek yogurt on top after reheating.  It’s cool, creamy, rich texture complimented the warm, spicy lentils beautifully.  I love that Emily used both whole and sliced mushrooms in this recipe, and the eggplant cooks down dramatically to really thicken this dish up.  It was perfect served over a bed of brown rice on a plate- no bowl needed.  Plus, it’s loaded with fiber, protein, veggies, wonder spices, and FLAVA!

 

Last night’s dinner at GreenHouse only strengthened its title as our new favorite eatery of all time.  When we arrived at a quarter after 8pm, we were immediately seated in a cozy little well-lit booth toward the middle of the restaurant.  GreenHouse always appears to be steadily busy, but we’ve never had to wait for a table.  The hostess and wait staff are always incredibly friendly, and they don’t hover over you while you’re menu browsing or eating (that always drives me nuts- it’s almost worse than when a waiter goes MIA!).

Right off the bat we ordered our adult beverages.  B opted for one of their $2 margaritas, and I ordered a glass of their Natura Carmenere: A product of Chile’s pioneering organic vineyards, this
bold wine features voluminous notes of chocolate, black fruits, toffee and spices with soft round tannins. 

We snapped pics of each other before the first sip, toasted to our successful hiatus from drinking, as well as to self-control and moderation going forward, and savored our drinks.

Waiting...

Waiting...

Hello, lover!

I took my first sip before our food arrived, and didn’t finish the glass until we’d already eaten dinner and packed up all our leftovers.  And that was it!  I enjoyed one delicious, organic, flavorful, indulgent glass of red wine, made it last, then called it quits.  :)  I felt so amazing and in control and mindful afterward!  Giving up drinking for 30 days really did free me from the hold that it has had on me for years.  I no longer depend on it for fun or happiness or stress relief.  Now, I see alcohol as more of a treat to be savored in moderation, the same way that I look at any indulgence- like a really gourmet piece of cheesecake or exotic square of expensive dark chocolate.  Now, for the first time, wine is something that is best enjoyed only occasionally and deserves my full attention.  I’m loving this place of balance that I have found!

(For the record, B had a few more drinks over the course of the evening, and that was perfectly okay with me!  In fact, we hung out with some friends after dinner who were also drinking, and it didn’t faze me one bit.  We all had a really good time, and I’m so happy to discover that my decision to cut back drastically on drinking doesn’t leave me feeling the least bit limited or self-conscious.)

Ok, forget the booze… lets talk about dinner!  :D

We each started with a field greens salad topped with their delicious roasted red pepper dressing:

B ordered the GreenHouse Club with a side of french fries: Smoked Turkey, Bacon, Avocado slices and Swiss Cheese on toasted Sourdough Bread…

He loved it.  :D

I rolled with the Curry Zucchini Cakes: Whole Wheat Curry Zucchini Cakes with Plum Chutney and Sour Cream served with Sweet Potato Fries…

These were BRILLIANT: thick, soft, perfectly cooked patties of moist zucchini, whole-wheat and warm curry spice topped with sweet-and-savory plum chutney and rich sour cream.

Perfection.

With a side of their amazing sweet potato fries (with lots of ketchup!), this was a perfect meal.  I had one zucchini cake and brought the second one home for lunch tomorrow or Tuesday… I can’t wait to enjoy it all over again!

This morning I woke up bright and early to do some power yoga with B and make pancakes for everyone…

OSG’s Blueberry-Carob Pancakes!!!

 

I think you should go make these right this second for three reasons: they’re super easy (7 ingredients, including cooking spray to grease your pan!), they’re packed full of healthy goodness (whole grains, antioxidant-rich blueberries, and fiber heavy, naturally sweet carob!), and they taste AMAZING!  Moist, fluffy, and delicious.  :)

I took a tip from Angela and topped my stack with a sweet, ripe mashed banana, a tiny bit of pure maple syrup, a sprinkling of crunchy cacao nibs, and a final drizzle of agave nectar:

Breakfast!!!

So good I almost cried.

Next Sunday the pancake fest will continue with PPK’s Carrot Cake Pancakes.  :)  I can’t wait!

Last but not least, here is this week’s menu…

Sunday (tonight): Leftover grilled Field Roast Grain Meat Co.’s Smoked Apple Sage “sausages”, kale chips (woohoo!), and the rest of the package of Alexia sweet potato waffle fries

Monday: Vegan Macaroni & Cheese plus steamed mixed veggies (so excited about this one!!!)

Tuesday: PPK’s Ancho Lentil Tacos

Wednesday: DG’s Black Bean Cocoa Quinoa

Thursday: Tostadas topped with vegetarian refried beans, avocado, tomato, salsa, spinach and a fried egg (I like ‘em runny- we called them “volcano eggs” as a kid)

Friday: Fried tofu, roasted eggplant, spinach and hummus sandwiches on multi-grain ciabatta bread (can’t wait to create this!)

Saturday: B and I are taking my sis out here for her birthday :)

Wheeew!  Have a good Sunday afternoon and I’ll see ya Tuesday… tomorrow is Manly Monday:D

xo,

Sara

PS- kid-related pics, just because :)

Cookie cutters ROCK!

Lil' E

Lil' O

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Eat, Drink & Be…Semi-Vegan « Inside & Out

  2. Pingback: Soda is the Devil + Strawberry-Carob Overnight Oats « Inside & Out

  3. Pingback: Restaurant Fireworks + Peanut Butter-Chocolate LOVE « Inside & Out

  4. Pingback: Lentil Love & Cookbook Hoarding « Inside & Out

  5. Pingback: Ziplines and Bon Bons « Inside & Out

Leave a Reply

