Vegan Carrot Cake Overnight Oats Recipe

Standard

G’mornin’!  Ever since making PPK’s Carrot Cake Pancakes a few weeks ago I’ve been wanting to incorporate those spicy, sweet, warm flavors into my regular breakfast.  Yesterday on a whim I tried to do just that with some overnight oats.  The result, which I am currently enjoying for breakfast, turned out fantastic!

Vegan Carrot Cake Overnight Oats

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I used unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze)
  • 1/2 cup soy yogurt (I used Whole Soy unsweetened plain)
  • 1/4 cup grated carrot
  • 1 heaping tablespoon raisins
  • 1 tablespoon ground flaxseed
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • tiny pinch of all-spice
  • 1 tablespoon liquid sweetener of choice (use less or more according to how sweet you want it- I used agave nectar), plus more for drizzling
  • 1 heaping tablespoon chopped walnuts

Directions:

In a serving bowl, combine the oats, milk, yogurt, carrot, raisins, flax meal, tablespoon of sweetener, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and all-spice.

Mix well, then cover with plastic wrap and put in the fridge overnight.

In the morning, your oats will have transformed from carrot soup to creamy, thick, delicious carrot cake goodness.  Drizzle with additional sweetener if desired and top with the walnuts.  Maybe add a few extra raisins on top if you’re feeling totally wild.  ;)

This was so good!  I love making breakfast the night before so it’s ready for me in the morning.  This version of overnight oats is packed with fiber, complex carbs, and healthy fats (walnuts and flaxseed are full of beneficial omega-3 fatty acids!), plus you’re starting the day off with a little veggie action- SCORE:)

I’ll be back later with yesterday’s adventures, which included lunch at The Cupboard with my brother and B, showing my bro around campus (he’ll be starting at the same university that I attend in the fall), the grand arrival of Mama Pea’s new cookbook (hint: I’m in love!), and dinner with M (we made falafel wraps and served PPK’s Grilled Peaches with Ginger Coconut Caramel sauce over coconut milk ice cream for dessert- EPIC!).

See ya later!  Have a good Thursday.  :)

S.

5 responses »

    • Hi Diana! Overnight Oats are a cold breakfast, which may seem strange at first (it did to me as I was used to hot oatmeal like most people), but you might be pleasantly surprised at how satisfying a cold, creamy bowl of these oats can be! I don’t think I would try heating them because of the yogurt. You could certainly make a batch of hot plain oatmeal and then add the rest of the ingredients, though, for a heated version! :)

      • It’s kind of a vege-d up ‘Bircher Muesli’, which is my standard Swiss breakfast. That’s soaked oats with yogurt, grated apple, cinnamon and, sometimes, dried fruit.

  1. Pingback: Yes, Peas! « Inside & Out

Leave a Reply

