Friday already!?

Standard

Whoa.  Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’… is tomorrow really Friday!?  I’m not really complaining, but the weeks are just flying by and I seriously miss blogging.  This school thing keeps getting in the way of the things that I actually like to do- what’s up with that?  ;)

In any case, I still have a few food pics to share.  And I have an awesome menu put together for the next several days!  Not only is it filled with yummy-sounding meals, my grocery list appears to be on the inexpensive side and I only have to go to one store for everything.  Normally I have to go to two stores, because- and this is just plain cuckoo- my regular grocery store of choice (Market Street) does not carry extra firm tofu.  I know!  I know!  That’s just bloody mad, man!

The week ahead looks to be a bit more relaxed school-wise (no crazy-making exams to study for), so hopefully I’ll be able to post more frequently.  I don’t know how you guys survived more than three days without seeing one of my salads or a jar of overnight oats.  I know it has been hard, so thank you for hanging on.  ;)  You’re a true I&O soldier.

Recent eats:

Apple-peanut butter overnight oats.

I seem to have a nut butter problem.  (Shut it, pervs.)  (Heh, nut butter…)  At any given time you can safely bet that there will be at least four different kinds of nut/seed butter in my fridge.  Currently I have sunflower seed butter, creamy peanut butter, tahini (sesame seed butter), maple almond butter, and raw almond butter in the kitchen.  I had cashew butter, too, until I finished off the jar yesterday morning…

Cashew-strawberry overnight oats…

…topped with CACAO! nibs.  :)

(This was really good!  Cashew butter is actually really tasty and surprisingly addictive.  DANGER!  DANGER!)

Lunches lately have consisted of the usual ginormo-salads or leftovers from dinner the night before.  Speaking of dinner, I’ve taken quite a few trips to Tasty Town this week!

Monday night I made this Oh She Glows Cheezy Summer Pasta, and it is now my all-time favorite vegan pasta dish.  It’s definitely tied with Creamy Avocado Pasta for 1st place!  This looked and smelled so good while I was making it that B postponed his plans to go watch the Monday night football game with his dad so that he could stick around and have some.  We ate it warm for dinner and it was spectacular, and then I had the leftovers cold the next day for lunch, which was seriously just as tasty.  I will be making this dish again and again next summer!  So easy, and so freaking delicious that you just might die.  (But you’ll die happy!)

Tuesday night I made Daily Garnish’s Sweet Potato and Lentil Veggie Chili.  It was thick and rich and hearty, almost too easy to throw together, and it made the whole house smell amazing- like cinnamon and smoky paprika.

It was so good!  I had the last bowl today for lunch, and I was definitely sad to see it go…

(The avocado wedge made a great topper!  A nice vegan alternative to sour cream.)

Last night I made the vegan Pad Thai from Peas and Thank You:

Sweet Christmas, this was good.  The tofu was marinated in a homemade sweet-tangy-salty hoisin/lime/soy sauce, and then broiled to crispy perfection.  The veggie mix included fresh broccoli, bamboo shoots (which I lurve), carrots and asparagus, all served over rice noodles and topped with peanuts and spicy sriracha.  Glorious, really.  I’m having the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.  :)  (Stoked.)

B is sick (again!) today, so he stayed home in bed.  I was going to have leftover Spicy African Peanut Stew for dinner, but decided to have a clean-out-the-crisper-drawer pre-grocery shopping salad monster instead.

This was mega delish!  Sometimes those use-it-up salads are the best.  This one had mixed greens, purple cabbage, carrots, zucchini, tomato, broccoli, parsley (I love chopped flat-leaf parsley on salads!  It adds a nice, unexpected, refreshing punch of flavor- amazin’!), shelled hemp seeds, Brianna’s poppyseed dressing, and a big blob of homemade hummus (I made more of the Crazy Good Hummus from Peas and Thank You… it really is crazy-good.  And easy).

This sucker had some height to it!

Tomorrow is grocery shopping day.  Here’s what I’ll be shoppin’ for:

This weekend I’ll be making the Lime-Tahini dressing from Peas and Thank You (like a lightened-up, healthier version of my favorite tahini sauce, only with a lime twist); I’ll be making Oh She Glows Peanut Butter Chocolate Crispies with Peanut Butter Fudge (looks so good!); I’ll try my hand at donut-making for Sunday morning’s breakfast (more pumpkin!); I’m going to bake two more loaves of that ridiculously addictive Pumpkin Swirl Butternut Bread (I have all that pumpkin butter in the fridge to use up, after all); and at some point I’m going to whip up another batch of make-ahead steel-cut oats.  (Thank goodness for Angela’s blog!  She should totally come out with a freaking cookbook.  Clearly, I would buy it…)

Dinners for the next week:

Friday: Daily Garnish’s Spaghetti Squash with Vegan Mushroom Cream Sauce (so excited for this one!)

Saturday: dinner out, or leftovers if B is still sick :(  (poor guy!)

Sunday: Family dinner here!  My mom is putting it all together.  And it’s the DEXTER SEASON PREMIERE!  Should be a good time.  :)

Monday: Slow cooker Chickpea & Wild Rice Soup from The Domestic Vegan (looks incredible!  Planning on leftovers from this one.)

Tuesday: Mama Pea’s “Cheese” stuffed Bean Burgers on sprouted grain buns with a side of kale chips (I’ve made these before and they rock)

Wednesday: Daily Garnish’s Butternut Squash and Black Bean Enchiladas with homemade enchilada sauce (YUMVILLE!)

Thursday: Leftover Chickpea & Wild Rice Soup (from Monday)

Friday: The leftover “Cheese” stuffed Bean Burgers (from Tuesday), only this time we’ll eat them with a fork (no bun) topped with sliced avocado, plus a side of Alexia onion rings or fries

I’m excited about the killer menu ahead and for a weekend of baking and cooking and relaxing with B and the tots.  The weather is supposed to get cooler, too, so that’s a definite added bonus.  Hello, October!

Alright.  *yawn*  Time for bed! :D  Have a good night.

Zzzzz…

xo,

S.

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

