Ziplines and Bon Bons

Standard

Hey there.  Happy Monday and stuff.  I spent a lot of time inside my head this weekend, but I put on a happy face and stayed busy.  We had a blast at a friend’s neighborhood fall festival on Saturday afternoon, where lil’ E rocked the zipline:

He must have waited in line for close to half an hour to do this, and I was sure that once he got to the top he would change his mind.  Not so!  He stepped off the platform like a champ.  It was pretty cool.  :)

The rest of the weekend consisted of grocery shopping, working out (I did STS Saturday and yoga yesterday), walking the neighborhood in search of spooky houses with the kids, studying, watching Real Housewives shenanigans, cheering for the Rangers (woohoo!), taking goofy pictures of myself…

Geeez.

…and cooking.  :)

Yesterday morning I made PPK’s Carrot Cake PancakesAgain.  They are ridiculously tasty- definitely one of my all-time favorite pancake recipes.

I did my usual thing and layered them with mashed ripe banana and topped with walnuts and pure maple syrup.

Salad for lunch with lots of goodies:

A gorgeous mix of spinach, carrots, ‘shrooms, grape tomatoes, broccoli, avocado, classic hummus, hemp seeds and Goddess dressing.

Yesterday afternoon I wanted to occupy myself in the kitchen, so I decided to make vegan Crunchy Peanut Butter Bon Bons.  :)  The recipe is by sisters Jenny Engel & Heather Goldberg, and now I really want to buy their cookbook!  It’s definitely next on my list.  The cookbook obsession never ends.

Anyway, these were really easy and fun to make!

As you may have guessed, they were sinfully delish, too.

(The tape on that chair cracks me up.  My mom’s husband, L, gave O that old chair to sit in at the table since he’s such a messy eater, and it is definitely on its last legs.  L is a… creative handy man.  If tape can fix it, it’s not broken.  He once tied the bumper back on to his old Taurus with wire.  Duct tape may have been involved as well.  *cringe*)

When I made those Roasted Butternut Squash and Black Bean Enchiladas two weeks ago I purposely roasted some extra butternut squash with the intention of making this later in the week.  Time flew by and I ended up freezing the extra squash, and I pulled it out this weekend with a plan to make that mac & cheeze last night.  My Mom made her amazing vegan chili yesterday (which simmered on the stove top all afternoon) and insisted that I have some, so I threw the mac & cheeze plans out the window and instead used the squash as a base for my chili.  It was so GOOD!  I never knew how good butternut squash could be until I started cooking with it recently.

My Ma’s chili is basically beans, tomatoes, chopped veggies like squash and onion, and spices.  It is the perfect texture and really hearty, with a nice kick of heat- I love spicy chili!  I topped my bowl with chopped cilantro and vegan sour cream:

This was such a good meal.  (Thanks, Mom!)

I don’t know what the deal is, but when B and I were together I cooked at least four or five nights a week, and we never had tons of leftovers.  Now I cook once or twice a week and I have so much food!  I still have a serving of Chickpea Wild Rice Soup in the freezer, as well as the last of the Roasted Butternut Squash and Black Bean Enchiladas, which I plan on eating tomorrow night for dinner since it’s my long day at school and I probably won’t feel like cooking.

I really enjoy cooking and wish I could do it more often, but I just don’t have enough people to feed!  Wanna come over for dinner?  I now find that making two new meals each week- three tops- yields enough food for me to grub on all week long plus leftovers to freeze.  This week I’ll be making DG’s Indian Lentils with Spinach and Eggplant (made this before and loved it!)- probably on Wednesday- and tonight I’m making Baked Eggplant Burgers!  Don’t they look freaking rad!?  I can’t wait to see how they turn out.  :D

I definitely need to get out and do some fun stuff since I was kind of a lame-o this weekend.  Luckily, I have some awesome stuff planned for next weekend!  Friday night I’m taking my sis to Spiral Diner (she’s never been), Saturday is the Mercy For Animals Texas State Veggie Fair kick-off party, and Sunday is the Texas State Veggie Fair.  I’m pretty excited about all of it!

Ok.  I’m off to crunch out some school work and rock another STS workout.  Have a good day!

xo,

S.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Friday « Inside & Out

Leave a Reply

