Friday

Standard

Hey.  Happy Friday.  Ya know, I never feel like blogging when I actually have the time to, but when I sit down with the intention of knocking out a bunch of homework, the strong urge to blog surfaces.  Funny how that works.  (Or maybe not.)

Last week I made the Baked Eggplant Burgers from One Green Planet and they were great.  My mom and I chowed down on them with some roasted cauliflower on the side while watching the new Dexter.  (Speaking of Dexter, how creepy is that whole Colin Hanks thing?)

Roasted eggplant, onion, beans, bell pepper, parsley, pine nuts, garlic, sea salt, cumin and hummus.

Stirring in whole-wheat panko bread crumbs (I was so happy to find a whole-wheat variety at Whole Foods!)

Ready to bake!

Cauliflower, ready for roasting: tossed with olive oil, sea salt, black pepper, and nooch (nutritional yeast- I’m going to become the vegan Rachael Ray and say ‘nooch’ every time I mean nutritional yeast, but then make it a point to explain what nooch means EVERY.SINGLE.TIME., thereby negating the beauty of such an abbreviation.)

(What does EVOO stand for again?)

The burgers baked for 45 minutes and they came out beautifully crisp and golden brown.  It was nice to be able to pop both the burgs and the cauliflower in the oven and forget about them for a while.

Dinner is served.  I ate my eggplant burger on a sprouted grain bun with Vegenaise, Dijon mustard and ketchup, plus lettuce and tomato.  Everything was awesome.

Random breakfast pic:

Apple-peanut butter overnight oats.  The mix:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • stevia and cinnamon
  • 1 T. chia seeds
  • 1/2 Honeycrisp apple, chopped

In the morning I topped it off with this peanut butter (which was leftover from making those bon bons) and a little agave.  It didn’t suck.

Random lunch pic:

The biggest salad in the history of all things salad.  I swear this thing weighed 18 pounds and kept me full for 7 hours!  It was a mix of chopped veggies and spinach topped with Goddess dressing and a leftover eggplant burger.

The other dinner I cooked this week was DG’s Indian Lentils with Spinach and Eggplant.

This was my second time to make this dish and it is just as good as I remember.  The thing I love about Emily’s recipes at Daily Garnish is their simplicity.  Every recipe I have tried of hers has been easy to make, doesn’t require 1,000 ingredients, and was wholesome, nutritious, and super tasty.  My only complaint would be that she rarely uses salt, but obviously that is something you can easily fix on your own.

I served this dish over simple brown rice made in the rice cooker:

This meal is so easy it’s almost ridiculous- you just brown some garlic and onion, add veggies, spices, lentils and broth, let simmer for half an hour or so, and then stir in some spinach just before serving- but it tastes like it took a lot of work.  Emily describes it as tasting like “upscale comfort food” and I agree.  If you like lentils and you love spices like curry and garam masala, you’ll love this dish.

I’d like to start posting reader food pics!  If you’ve recently prepared a meatless meal (vegan or vegetarian) and loved it, email a picture of your creation to me at food and fitness lover @ yahoo.com.  Include a link to the recipe (if applicable) and a short review of how you and/or your family liked it and I’ll include it in a future post.  I’d like to show people that meatless meals can be delicious and satisfying and I want to get some reader feedback!  Eventually I’d like to be able to build a vegan/vegetarian recipe resource page with reader tested and approved recipes and meal ideas.  :)

I have a busy weekend ahead but a lot of fun stuff planned: studying for next week’s anatomy & physiology exam, dinner at Spiral Diner tonight, the Mercy For Animals Kick-Off Party tomorrow night, and the Texas State Veggie Fair on Sunday.  :)

Here’s what I’ll be making in the coming week:

I have lots of leftovers to grub on, too: several servings of Indian lentils from last night, an eggplant burger, and some leftover vegan chili that I froze last week.  Good stuff.  :)

Today I need to get some school stuff done, I have my first ever parent-teacher conference this afternoon (!), and I’m also going to rock some cardio and knock out the grocery shopping for next week.

I’m so glad it’s Friday.  What are your plans for the weekend?  Make something vegan and send me a pic!  ;)

See ya later,

S.

Leave a Reply

