Procrastiblogging & Recipe Love

Standard

Yo.  I have a scary a&p exam tomorrow morning and I’ll be studying all day today (ACK!), but I wanted to get a quick post in to talk about some amazing things I’ve made this week.

Sunday I whipped up a double batch of Mama Pea’s Crazy Good Hummus (from her cookbook), and I figured that since I had the food processor and tahini out, I might as well make a batch of Angela’s Tahini-Lemon Dressing (from this recipe).  I’m pretty sure everyone knows that I’m a big salad eater, and I always try to have a variety of dressings and toppers in my fridge to prevent salad burn-out.  Hummus is the perfect way to add protein and fiber to an otherwise boring bed of greens, and a good dressing is definitely important (duh).  I also added sprouts to my lunchtime salads this week- so good!

I made the hummus extra garlicky, because that’s how I roll.  And that tahini dressing is incredible!  The nooch adds a nice tang and mild cheezy flavor, and the lemon and tahini combo is delish.

What are your favorite salad fixins?

Here is how I build my salads:

Base (pick as many as you want): spinach, mixed greens, shredded cabbage (purple or green), kale, romaine, sprouts, chopped herbs like parsley and basil

Chopped veggies (unlimited): carrot, cucumber, zucchini, tomatoes, mushrooms, celery, asparagus, bell peppers, cauliflower, broccoli, onion (green, red), snap peas, snow peas, leftover roasted/grilled veggies like squash and eggplant

Healthy fat (use sparingly- pick 1 or 2): avocado or guacamole, olives, sliced almonds, walnuts, pecans, shelled hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds (to keep portions in check, aim for about 1/4 a large avocado and/or 1 or 2 tablespoons of nuts/seeds- no need to measure, just eyeball it)

Protein (in moderation- approximately 1/2 cup): hummus, cooked lentils or beans (chickpeas, kidney, black, great northern, etc.), shelled edamame, leftover tempeh or tofu, leftover veggie burger patty

Fun add-ins (pick 1 or 2. Go easy on dried fruit- a little goes a long way!): dried fruit like cranberries or blueberries, raisins, wasabi peas, artichoke hearts, corn, hearts of palm, bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, roasted red peppers, jicama, leftover roasted baby potatoes, roasted butternut squash chunks, leftover cooked grains like bulgur wheat, quinoa, brown rice, whole-grain croutons

(Depending on what else you have going on in your salad, you can also add chopped fresh fruit like apple slices, fresh berries or mango!)

Dressing (up to 1/4 cup): Olive oil and vinegar (red wine, balsamic), homemade dressing (dressing is SO easy to make and there are a million recipes online!), store-bought dressing (Annie’s makes a great vegan Goddess dressing and Brianna’s Poppy Seed dressing is also a tasty vegan choice)

And there you have it.  :)  That’s my template for building a balanced, tasty, fun, filling meal of a salad.  You could probably have a different salad every day for a year and never eat the same combo twice!

This week I also made Mama Pea’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls:

These are SO GOOD.

I’ve been eating my way through the leftover Indian Lentils with spinach and eggplant and just froze the last of it yesterday.  Monday night I finally made OSG’s Butternut Squash Mac ‘n Cheeze, and it was amazing- rich, creamy and cheezy, the way a good mac n’ cheeze should be.  I am always blown away by how awesome vegan cheeze sauces come out!  This would be a great dish to make for someone who thinks they couldn’t live without cheese.  I used to be that person, and recipes like this have changed my life.

The basic cheeze sauce

Stirring in butternut squash puree

Dude.  This was so good, I could have just sat down at the table with this pot and a spoon and called it dinner.  I want to put this sauce on everything.

This recipe is really basic and versatile.  The sauce is easy to whip up on the stove top, and then you just cook your pasta of choice and that’s it (I used whole-wheat shells).  The fun part is deciding what mix-ins to add!  I had some leftover shelled edamame that needed usin’, a red bell pepper, and a bunch of kale.

When the sauce is done and your pasta is cooked and drained, mix it all together with the veggies and heat through.  (Angela is a freaking genius.)

I still can’t get over how creamy that sauce was!

This was the perfect quick-and-easy weeknight meal.

Lucky for me there are plenty of leftovers.  (Hello, dinner tonight!)

Last but not least, breakfast this morning:

OSG’s Chocolate Cake Batter Vegan Overnight Oats!

I can’t tell you how damn tasty this was- there are no words.

The only changes that I made to her recipe were that I didn’t use any protein powder, I used 1/2 cup oats instead of 1/3 cup, and I added a little stevia for sweetness to the overnight oats mixture.  In the morning you just whip up a little chocolate-banana soft serve (1 ripe frozen banana processed with 2 T. carob powder until smooth and creamy), and layer together in a glass or bowl.

This tasted like freaking dessert but was packed full of healthy goodness.  I just loved it.

I think next up I’m going to try making breakfast chia pudding.  Maybe this recipe, or this!

Alright.  I guess I should go study…  waa waaaaaaaaa.

Have a great Wednesday!

Where are all my veggie peeps at?  Send pics of your vegetarian/vegan meals with a review of the recipe to food and fitness lover @ yahoo.com:)

xo,

Sara

6 responses »

  1. What the what? That chia pudding shizzle-ness looks delectable (I’m delirious right now so I’m hoping that is the right word) :) What a great blog this is, Sara! Love it. xo

  2. Pingback: Build A Beast « Inside & Out

  3. Pingback: Thursday Quickie « Inside & Out

Leave a Reply

