Ribz, Scary Monsters, and Blog Luv

Standard

Hey-o.  How’s it goin’?  On this fine Friday evening I find myself watching the World Series with one eye open and one eye closed.  Or, one eye on the computer and one on the tv.  I just wasn’t designed for sports watching.  My body can’t handle the stress.  I honestly start to get physically ill, and then I want to toss the television out the window.  Or at least throw the remote at it.

Anyway!  I’ll keep this brief so that I can go make myself sick watching The Rangers.

Last night I made homemade seitan BBQ ribz from the (incredible) Vegan Diner cookbook.  I’ve made these before and loved ‘em, and they rocked my world once again last night.  Julie Hasson is a freakin’ genius!  I never buy fake meat from the store (with the exception of the occasional Field Roast Grain Meat Co. product) and prefer to eat less processed bean and grain-based vegan dishes, but every once in a while a good mock burger or “meat” spaghetti sauce is damn tasty.  Store-bought seitan is expensive, too!  I never knew how easy it was to make at home until I bought Vegan Diner.  All you really need is some vital wheat gluten, liquid and spices…

The cookbook has some killer-sounding BBQ sauce recipes in it, but I went the easy route last night and used some bottled Annie’s sauce that I already had on hand.

I also baked a sweet potato in the oven and roasted some asparagus.  Yesterday was a cold day for us Texans, and this meal was the perfect hot, stick-to-your-ribz comfort food.

SO GOOD.

Sunday night I’m serving the leftover ribz BBQ sandwich-style on sprouted grain buns with some vegan coleslaw on top.  Can’t wait:D

For your viewing pleasure, here are my little guys dressed up in their Halloween costumes:

Such stinkers.

They were totally ready to go for a Halloween party this evening, but then we found out that the party had been cancelled!  In a moment of desperation we decided to drive around the neighborhood and look at spooky houses instead.  Is it just me or did fewer people decorate for Halloween this year?  We found a couple of really awesome houses, but there didn’t seem to be nearly as many decorations as last year.

In other news, I was a winner this week!

Kathy at Healthy Happy Life (one of my favorite vegan blogs of all time) had a Halloween giveaway, and I won!  I never win anything- seriously.  It’s true!  I can’t think of a single thing I have ever won in my whole entire life.  Is that normal?  Does that make me a loser?  No!  No, it does not.  Because on Tuesday, I won, dammit.  I am a loser no more!

The goods included two of Kathy’s Lunchbox Bunch totes (so freakin’ cute!) plus four vegan chocolate bars.  (Happy Halloween to me!)

Hello, my pretties…

One Theo Salted Almond Dark Chocolate bar, one Theo Mint Dark Chocolate bar

…plus one Go Max Go Jokerz bar and a boom CHOCO boom crispy rice bar from Enjoy Life.  :)

Doesn’t everyone take pictures of themselves with chocolate bars?  Winning this giveaway pretty much made my life week.

My gosh, what a suckfest this game is turning into.  Um, chocolate, anyone?!  :D

Before I forget, here’s what I’ll be cookin’ next week:

What are your plans this weekend?

Have a great night and a jolly good weekend.  That’s right, JOLLY good.  If you’re a Rangers fan, go put your feet up and take some deep breaths… and perhaps a mild sedative.

xo,

Sara

One response »

  1. Pingback: Cooking, lately… « Inside & Out

Leave a Reply

