Crunch Time

Standard

The last two weeks of the semester are finally here!  I have my last lab practical tomorrow afternoon, a couple of finals Friday, Monday, and then my very last exam next Thursday.  When I’m not busy studying I’m busy thinking about studying, and I’m hoping that helps me out in some way.  I remember reading about a study where people who *thought* about lifting weights for several weeks actually showed a slight gain in strength, so SURELY the same is true for academic studies.  Surely.  ;)

Anyway, here is what I’ve been eating lately.

Last week I made Mama Pea’s Orange Sesame Tempeh Stir-fry:

Conclusion: Tempeh in chunks = vomit.  Tempeh, grated and sautéed = totally scrumptious!  :D

I’m really glad that I gave tempeh another chance, because now that I know I like it crumbled, a whole new world of recipes has opened up.  Tempeh chili, tempeh tacos, and endless stir-fry options.  Yum!

In addition to the above stir-fry (which gave me 4 huge meals!), I also made Mama Pea’s Lemon Lentil Soup:

It was easy to throw together and tasted really good!  This recipe is also in Mama Pea’s cookbook, and it says that it yields 6 large bowls.  I got 2.5 meals out of it.  :(  It was good, I just wish I had more of it!

Saturday night I went with my best buds to the Spiral DinerM and I both ordered the Festivus Sandwich: toasted multigrain bread piled with faux-turkey, cranberry pecan stuffing, veg cream cheese, cranberry sauce, veg mayo and lettuce.

The ‘wich came with a side of coconut whipped sweet potatoes, which I thought were spectacular, and brown gravy for dipping.  The whole meal was awesome.

More dinner pics:

Our hummus appetizer was devoured in about 4 seconds flat.

K‘s Nachos Supremo.

T’s meatball sub.

Peanut butter cup for dessert!  This thing was like a hockey puck and must have weighed five pounds.

Last night my Mom cooked.  She went all out and made spaghetti with a butternut squash cream sauce, whole-wheat bread (oh how I love fresh homemade bread!) and a green salad.  She also made Vegan Diner‘s Apple Crumb Pie for dessert:

Amazing.  So, so ridiculously good.

Here’s what I’ll be making this week!

Lunches:

Double batch of Crazy-Good Hummus (already did this over the weekend)

Almond-Ginger Dressing (did this over the weekend, too!  I love putting that hummus and this dressing on my lunchtime salads)

Snacks/breakfast for the tots:

Banana Bread (I left the nuts/seeds out because my kids just pick them off anyway), which I made yesterday:

Sweet stuff:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cups (I can’t WAIT to try these!)

Pumpkin Spice Bars (because you can never have too much pumpkin- it just isn’t possible)

(You can also never have too much sweet stuff stockpiled in your freezer.)

Dinners:

Tonight I’ll make FatFree Vegan Kitchen’s Thick and Hearty Split Pea Soup!  I’m hoping for lots of leftovers from this one, because it is definitely soup weather here lately.  I’ll also defrost the leftover Walnut Lentil Loaf that I froze a couple weeks ago (recipe here).  One night I’ll use it to recreate this meal (sooo good!), and another night I’ll serve it alongside a baked sweet potato and roasted brussels sprouts.  Yeah buddy, it is comfort food season.  :)

I hope your week is a good one!  If you need me I’ll be studying, thinking about studying, or cooking.  ;)

xo,

S.

PS- We managed to get a good pic with Santa over the weekend.  That is THE REAL Santa, in case you were wondering.

(Am I the only one that doesn’t dress their kids up in green and red holiday outfits for pics with Santa?  I think the answer is YES.)

5 responses »

  1. I had a Festivus sandwich on Thursday before stopping at the magnificent, historic Texas Theatre to watch Director Alex Cox present his film, Walker starring Ed Harris, and answer a Q & A afterwards. Very scrumptious. I look forward to it’s visit on the specials each holiday season. I’m usually quite weak for Spiral’s delicious desserts, but my triathlon training I signed up for on Monday kept me from indulging my sweet tooth.

    • Hi Evan! How cool that you’re embarking on a triathlon! That peanut butter cup was good, but not as good as it could have been. It wasn’t peanut buttery enough on the inside for me! I agree, SD’s desserts are usually incredible. I love their pumpkin cheesecake!

  2. Good Luck for your end-of-year exams! Also.. I really wish I could eat at your place every night (or even once would be an improvement on never..). Guess what, I passed all my exams and now have a Health Science degree. What to do with it? Good question.

Leave a Reply

