Freedom

Standard

Hiya!  *waves arms dramatically and jumps up and down*  I’m freeeeeee!  The semester is OVA.  And I am so, so very glad.  I ended up pulling 4 As, and my a&p lab grade is still a mystery- grades aren’t officially due until Monday.  In any case, I made it!  I survived!  Another semester down, 2 more (+ 1 summer sesh) to go.  I see the light at the end of the tunnel, and it is bright and warm and welcoming and glorious:)

I made it.  Am a genius, clearly.  ;)

(I should also remember to dry my hair before taking pictures.  NOTED.)

I don’t have many food pics to share, but I have been cooking.  Last week I made Butternut Squash Mac & Cheeze (made this before), Red Lentil and Squash Curry Stew (made this before, too), and Mama Pea’s No Bake Snowball Cookies.  FYI, those cookies are amazing, and they’re crazy-easy to make.  (Go make some now!  Cover yourself and your kitchen in powered sugar because it’s FESTIVE, dammit!)

I’ve been eating a lot of steel-cut oatmeal and oat bran for breakfast lately, and I’ve also developed a thing for grapefruit.  I never think to buy grapefruit even though I like it, and I picked one up on a whim at the market a couple of weeks ago because it just looked so good.  It was better than I remembered- absurdly juicy, with a natural sweetness that surprised me.  Me and grapefruit have become very good friends.

I absolutely love hot cereal with a spoonful of nut butter on top.  At any given moment you are sure to find cashew butter, almond butter, peanut butter, tahini, and sunflower seed butter in my fridge.  My favorite snack in the whole world is a giant spoonful of nut butter eaten straight from the jar, plus a piece of fruit.  I’m always on the lookout for new nut/seed butter products (I really want to try macadamia nut butter and walnut butter!), and yesterday I came across this at the store:

Anxious to try it, this morning I mixed a serving of this make-ahead oatmeal with some frozen cherries and stevia, got it nice and hot, and added a pat of Hempspread on top…

After awhile the hempspread started to melt into the hot oatmeal, and it was so freakin’ tasty!  I’m in love with this stuff.

The sweetness of the cherries with the rich cacao and nutty hemp flave was awesome.

What is your favorite nut/seed butter?

I’m still having a giant salad for lunch most days…


I’m really into purple cabbage right now.  Today’s salad was topped with my favorite lemon-tahini dressing and homemade garlic hummus.

Have you planned your Christmas menu yet?  My family likes to do lasagna on Christmas Day, and I’ll be making the Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Lasagna with a Creamy (vegan) Bechamel Sauce from my new Spork-Fed cookbook, plus this insanely delicious looking Sticky Toffee Pudding for dessert.  I can’t wait!  I’ve been slacking on making new things the last few weeks due to end-of-semester craziness, but I definitely plan on cooking my way through the Spork-Fed cookbook during my winter break.  Every single recipe looks and sounds divine.

Speaking of cookbooks, I have Blissful Bites on my Christmas wish list and I really hope that I get it!  My vegan cookbook collection is coming along nicely.  :)

I have so many little life things that need tending to now that school is out, like getting my oil changed, organizing paperwork, sorting through the kids’ toys and donating what they’ve outgrown, cleaning out my car and watching the rest of my new workout dvds so that I can actually do them.  Also?  High on my list of to-dos is buying exactly 1,224,587,559 AA batteries for the inflow of new toys that Santa is sure to bring next weekend.  (If you want to come over and help me assemble kid stuff, I will pay you with a belly full of vegan lasagna and heavily spiked soy nog.  Any takers?)

Meals for next week aren’t anything new: I’ll be making those awesome Black Bean & Butternut Squash Burritos again (using leftover roasted squash from last week’s mac & cheeze) and Mama Pea’s Teriyaki Tofu (from her cookbook- made this before and it RULED!) with steamed mixed veggies over soba noodles.  Tomorrow for breakfast I’m making a vegan version of Jenna’s Whole Wheat Butternut Squash Pancakes.

Workouts have been going strong- 3 weight workouts, 3 cardio workouts, and 1 yoga session each week.  I’m anxious to work those new dvds into my rotation.  :)

I hope your Saturday is magnificent!  I know this time of year can be stressful if we let the hustle and bustle get to us, but try not to be a total dick when you’re out running your last-minute errands, ya hear?  The holidays are about giving and kindness and remembering what’s really important in life, not flipping off the guy beside you in traffic because he dared to cut you off.  The most cheery time of year also seems to make people act like total assholes, am I right?!

xo,

Sara

Leave a Reply

