Back to School

Standard

Hiya!  Life is CRAZY, but I’m still alive and kickin’.  School started this week.  I’m taking Grant Writing, Microbiology, Spanish I and Developmental Psychology.  I don’t think it’s going to be such a bad mix of classes (last semester killed me dead), but I know I’m going to be very busy nonetheless.  Here’s what has been going on in Food Land…

This Superfood Green Monster.

Mine turned out more purple with green specks, but it was mighty tasty just the same!

That’s a whole lotta smoothie with a big nutritional punch- loaded with fiber, protein, healthy fats and green goodness.  This kept me full for several hours, too.  Definitely one of my fave smoothie recipes to date!  :)  It was my first time using that raw vegan protein powder and I couldn’t detect it in my smoothie, even without any added sweetener.  I also added half a scoop to some overnight oats later in the week and couldn’t taste it there, either.  So far, so good!  It has a very earthy smell so I don’t know how good it’d be going down mixed with just water, but I have found it to be perfect for mixing into smoothies and oats.

I had a bit of a donut flop on Sunday morning.  I followed this recipe exactly but my donuts didn’t puff up like they should have.  They also obnoxiously stuck to the pan, so the kids got deconstructed donuts in a bowl drizzled with the chocolate glaze.

Fortunately they didn’t mind one bit!

:D

Sunday afternoon I made Oh She Glows Wheat Berry and Bean Salad for quick, easy lunches all week long.  It is incredibly tasty and has just gotten better sitting in the fridge.  It has a great flavor and lots of different textures, which I love.  This was a definite salad WIN.  :)

For dinner Sunday night I made the PPK’s Hottie Black Eyed Peas with Ginger Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Apples:

This is one of my very favorite vegan meals in the whole world- there’s just something about legumes and greens cooked together that rocks my world.  Those mashed sweet potatoes are pretty ridiculous, too.  The combo of sweet potato with apple and ginger is pure heaven.

I’m eating the last of this tonight and I am very excited.  ;)

Monday night I made Daily Garnish’s Chickpea Hummus Burgers.

These were so simple to throw together and were freakin’ delicious!  B declared that they are one of his favorite veggie burgers to date.  Served with our favorite spicy kale chips, I had my burger with tomato slices on a sprouted grain bun spread with hummus:

We had the leftover burgers last night for dinner.  We left off the bun and topped the patties with sliced avocado (B slathered his with Vegenaise, too) and ate them with a fork.  I roasted some cauliflower and baked some spicy sweet potato fries to go alongside.  Good stuff.

Here is what I’ll be cooking in the week ahead!

For a sweet treat, I’ll make the Butternut Brownies with Walnut Butter Frosting that I meant to make last week.  We’ve been enjoying those Pumpkin Molasses Cookie Dough Balls (recipe here), but since they’re almost gone I need to make something new!

For Sunday morning breakfast I’m going to try the donut thing again.  I’ve had success with Oh She Glows donut recipes in the past, so this week I’ll make her Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Glazed Donuts.  Don’t they look awesome:D

For snacks and quick breakfasts for the tots, I’ll make Mama Pea’s Raspberry Oat Bran Muffins.  I’ve made these before and the kids gobbled ‘em up.

And finally, dinners.  Friday night I’m going to make the Tofu Curry Stir Fry from Peas and Thank You, served over soba noodles.  Sunday I’ll make Spaghetti Squash with Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Chickpeas from the FatFree Vegan Kitchen blog.  Monday I’ll throw together this Ridiculously Easy Vegetable Gumbo (also from the FatFree Vegan Kitchen blog), served over either quinoa or brown rice.  Saturday night we’re going to check out a new (to us) vegan restaurant, so that’s pretty exciting.  :)

Workout wise I’ve been loving Cathe’s Low Impact SeriesAfterBurn and Athletic Training are my fave workouts so far.  I never knew that low impact could be so intense!

Okay, I’m off to pick E up from school, grocery shop, and study.  Have a great Thursday… the weekend is in sight!  :)

xo,

S.

PS- The curls are gone.  My kids look so grown up now!

2 responses »

  1. Wow, I wish I had some free credits to take a language paper… I’m doing 1.5 full time years Postgrad and it’s value-packed nutritional science. I’m scared. It may kill me. Each paper has one or two big, fat expensive textbooks. Just lifting them should be all the weight training I need. ;) What’s in that raw, vegan protein. Knowing a little about protein extraction techniques, I don’t know how they can do it and call it ‘raw’. Is it a complete protein?

Leave a Reply

