Confessions & Cookies for Breakfast

Standard

Happy Friday to ya!  Big plans for the weekend? Tonight I’m hosting a girl’s dinner party and I am seriously stoked.  I haven’t seen some of my best girls in quite a while, so this is long overdue.  After this post I’m going to get crackin’ on making a summer berry pie for dessert.  It’s my first time making a homemade pie (I usually take the easy route and use a store-bought crust), so wish me luck!

Now onto serious business.  I have a confession to make: I am an addict.  Not only that, but I don’t think that I can be helped.

I HAVE A VERY SERIOUS VEGAN COOKBOOK ADDICTION.

It all started with this cookbook.  You might call it the ‘gateway’ cookbook.  Which led to this book.  And then this one.  And this one.  And then I went on a bender and bought this and this back-to-back.  And then I received this as a Christmas gift.  And I couldn’t resist buying this one when it came out!

I promised myself that was it- no more!  I didn’t need another vegan cookbook.  I am strong and in control, dammit!

But then I read this.  Oh, and this.  And then… this.  And I just couldn’t take it.  I’m ashamed to admit that I caved and ordered Dreena’s new book.  Admitting that you have a problem is the first step…

(I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS COOKBOOK!)

***

Ok, enough nonsense.  What I really want to post about are the incredible Carrot Cake Breakfast Cookies that I made on Wednesday.  :D  (When Angela comes out with her cookbook, you KNOW I’ll be pre-ordering that sucker!  I’m telling you, I cannot be stopped).  But first, how about a salad pic?

Geeez, don’t get so excited.  ;)

I used some of the leftovers from my Greek meal Tuesday night to create this beauty.  It must have weighed around 15 pounds.

Cabbage, spinach, cauliflower, bell peppers, tomato, carrot, baba ganoush, Kalamata olives, feta tofu and tahini sauce.  Also known as G.L.O.R.I.O.U.S.  :D

Okay, now onto those cookies.

I am always looking for ways to get omega-3s into my kids.  I sneak flax meal and chia seeds into their cereal and smoothies, but I am all about hiding them in baked goods, too.  When I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it immediately.  A hefty dose of omegas and some veggie action in one cookie? I’m not sure it gets any better than that (provided that my kids will actually eat them, of course).

Easy enough, right?  In just under 30 minutes we had hot, ultra moist, nutrient-packed cookies just begging to be devoured.  This recipe gets bonus points because it made the entire house smell awesome!

My kids, who are both pretty picky eaters (it often takes 15 minutes for them to eat a carrot stick), LOVED these.

E liked them so much that he… struck a pose.

They really are that good…

If a slice of carrot cake and an oatmeal raisin cookie had a baby, this would be it.

I’m in love.  WITH A COOKIE.

I’m off to make a pie and rock some cardio.  We’re going to a farm sanctuary on Sunday and I am beyond excited!

Have a fantastic weekend, friends.  :)

XO,

S.

5 responses »

  1. Hi –I haven’t commented before but I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your site and just hearing about your life and seeing all the incredible food you make and eat. I am trying to work my way to vegan—-I am almost a vegetarin now and, after reading all the gross and cruel stuff about our meat supplies, just want to give it all up. I have some low blood sugar issues that meat fixes instantly, but I am working on eating nuts and seeds to fix that. Wish me luck and keep up the interesting blog.

    • Hey, Jean! Geeez, thank you so much for commenting! Stuff like this just makes my day. That’s awesome that you’re giving more thought to where you’re food comes from and want to make some changes. I know it’s not always easy at first, but you will surely find your groove. If you need any help with recipes or meal ideas, etc., I’m your girl! Though I’ve been vegan for close to a year, I just ordered this book to have as a reference: http://www.amazon.com/Complete-Idiots-Guide-Plant-Based-Nutrition/dp/1615641017/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1337363777&sr=1-4

      I’ve heard great things about it, it was cheap, and it covers everything from a plant-based pregnancy to veg kids to vegan athletes and senior citizens. You might want to check it out!

      Anyway, thanks again for reading. :) Good luck on your meat-free journey! XO

      • Thanks, Sara, I am gonna check that book out! Looks good to me! :)OX

Leave a Reply

