What’s For Dinner?

Standard

Hiya!  I’m neck-deep in epidemiological equations *sob* but I wanted to show some dinner love to the two amazing recipes I tried this week!

First up, Daily Garnish’s Strawberry, Avocado & Tofu Summer Salad:

Oh boy, this was a good one.  Soft red leaf lettuce, sweet and juicy strawberries, buttery hunks of ripe avocado, wonderfully fragrant fresh basil, crunchy sunflower seeds and simple coconut oil-fried tofu (which crisped up to golden perfection using this tutorial), all drizzled with a sweet-and-tangy homemade dressing.

This doesn’t take long to throw together and it makes enough for two large servings.  It was surprisingly filling for a salad, too!  I highly recommend making it as soon as possible.  :)

Next up, the Spicy Potato & Black Bean Burritos from Oh She Glows:

These were also ridiculously easy.  I added some ground chipotle chile pepper for extra heat, and it was a good call.  (I’m crazy for spicy!)

I topped my (way over-stuffed) burrito with chunky salsa, fresh cilantro and sliced avocado.

The combination of buttery, sweet potatoes with the black beans and spices was amazing.  And isn’t *everything* better with avocado?

(The answer is YES.)

Speaking of avocado…

Love his Sunday morning bed head ;)

My little guys have been digging green smoothies lately!  It’s a great way to sneak all kinds of healthy food into their diet, like chia seeds, flax meal, spinach and avocado.  I swear you can’t taste any of it!  (Trust me, my kids would throw a fit if those magical ingredients were at all detectable.)

I like to blend vanilla almond or flax milk, frozen banana chunks, frozen mango, pineapple or berries, flax meal, chia seeds, a handful of spinach and up to half of a large avocado together, with a touch of agave nectar to sweeten the deal.  They love it, and I love that they’re happily slurping down a nutrient-packed smoothie.   :)

Bonus salad pic:

Yesterday’s lunch

I’m going to rename this blog ‘The Salad Blog’

Spinach, green cabbage, tomato, carrot, red bell pepper, zucchini, leftover roasted broccolini, steamed asparagus, DJ’s Hummus Salad Dressing (from Let Them Eat Vegan!) and the rest of Gena’s Curried Chickpea Salad (I’m bummed that it’s gone- that recipe is now a fave of mine, too).

That’s all I got.  See ya tomorrow for another What I Ate Wednesday post.  :)

XO,

S.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday « Inside & Out

  2. Pingback: Weekend in Pictures « Inside & Out

  3. Pingback: Blue « Inside & Out

Leave a Reply

