What I Ate Wednesday

Standard

Oh yes, dear readers, it’s that time again!

Okay, wait.  Show of hands: How many of you actually like seeing what other people eat over the course of a day?

*shoots hand into the air*

I love when other bloggers do What I Ate posts.  Surely I’m not the only one? (If you have a blog, you should totally do one.  And then tell me about it so I can ogle your grub.)

(Heh, ogle your grub.)

Ahem.

One of the reasons why I do these posts is to squash the misconception that vegans live off of little more than lettuce and tofu.  Another reason is that it gives me something to blog about.  ;)

Breakfast

Oh She Glows’ Blueberry Banana Pie Vegan Overnight Oats

This is a fantastic summertime breakfast, and it is by far the best of all the vegan overnight oats recipes I have tried.  With chewy, perfectly sweetened oats, plump juicy blueberries (definitely get fresh berries for this), soft chunks of banana and a welcome buttery crunch from the omega-3-packed walnuts, it is thick and creamy and wonderful.  I halved the recipe and divided it into two individual portions, and found that it was the perfect serving size for a substantial and energizing morning meal.

I’m definitely making this again for next week!

Lunch

I had a half hour of free time yesterday between schoolwork and my morning workout, so I decided to whip up a double batch of my favorite Lemon-Tahini Dressing (at the bottom of this recipe) along with some garlic hummus.  This time I used a combo of pinto and garbanzo beans, and the pintos seemed to make my standard hummus recipe even lighter and creamier than usual.  When lunchtime rolled around, I used the hummus and dressing on a big ol’ salad:

Glorious.

Dinner

That salad kept me full for a good 6 hours!  Before I knew it, it was 7pm.  I had leftover Spicy Potato & Black Bean Burrito filling to use up, but I wanted to save that for tonight since I knew I’d be crunched for time this evening and need a quick dinner after E’s evening basketball game.  I had a lone vegan Chipotle Field Roast Sausage in the freezer and a bunch of Lacinato kale in the fridge, so that became yesterday’s dinner:

I pan-fried the not-sausage in a little olive oil and ate it on a sprouted grain bun with Vegenaise, ketchup and lots of sweet relish.  Man, it was good.  I forgot how much I love those Field Roasts (the Smoked Apple Sage flave is another favorite).

I turned the kale into my usual spicy kale chips (see this post for a brief how-to).

Dessert

Last weekend my awesome Mom (she’s vegan, too!) made the Sweet Cherry Chocolate Chip Cake from Daily Garnish, and after I tasted it I immediately cut off another slice and hid it in the fridge for later consumption.  Holy hell, is it ever delicious.

She said she used all whole-wheat pastry flour in place of the regular white and whole-wheat, and I could not believe how moist and rich this cake was- perfectly studded with chocolate chips, and every other bite was full of sweet, plump, juicy cherry goodness.

Paired with an ice-cold glass of vanilla almond milk, it was an awesome late-night snack.  :)

That was yesterday’s eats.  Before I go, here is this week’s menu!

For breakfasts I’m going to stick to my usual green smoothies (my go-to recipes are here, here and here), Cocoa Goji Granola with fruit and almond milk, the Strawberry Goji Muffins from last week, and I’m definitely going to make another half-batch of those Blueberry Banana Pie Vegan Overnight Oats!

For lunch salads I’m going to make the Creamy Curried Almond Dressing from LTEV (I still have curry on the brain after all that curried chickpea salad!).

Dinners:

  • Chickpea Pumpkin Seed Burgers from LTEV.  For one meal I’ll have the burger on a sprouted grain bun with a side of kale chips, and for another meal I’ll have the patty sans bun with a side of roasted broccolini and baked sweet potato rounds or fries.  The recipe makes 5 or 6 burgers, so I’ll freeze the rest for another week.  :)
  • Made these before and LOVED ‘em: The PPK’s Tofu Omelets!  One night I’ll have one stuffed with spinach and ‘shrooms plus a side of roasted butternut squash (I cheated and bought a bag of frozen squash today- I miss it so!), another night I’m going to fill one with roasted broccolini with a side of smashed new potatoes (a recipe from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan, which was my first vegan cookbook ever, awww), and another night I’m going to make a Mexi-omelet filled with black beans, tomato, avocado, jalapeno, salsa, and sautéed peppers and onions.  No matter what the filling, I’m definitely going to be topping all of my omelets with the best homemade vegan cheeze sauce on the entire planet.  YES.

And I may or may not use a leftover omelet or chickpea pumpkin seed burger as the protein source on a lunchtime salad.  I’m out of control.

Last but not least, someday I’ll get around to making Mama Pea’s Black Bean Brownies.  I still have at least a dozen cookies in the freezer!

Time to relax.  :)

Happy (almost) Friday!

XO,

Sara

4 responses »

  1. Did you just admit to stealing food from you own mum? :D Student’s gotta do what a student’s gotta do…. ;) I love ‘what I ate’ posts. It gives a feel for how a day goes for another health blogger. I would do that except that most of the stuff I throw together to nourish myself is really unphotogenic.

    • I definitely have a thing for cakes and breads. So much so that I will steal and hide them, apparently. You’ve been warned- guard your cake around me!

Leave a Reply

