Yumville

Standard

Hi.  This morning I took my epidemiology final (yessssss!) and in the afternoon I brought the bambinos to Hawaiian Falls, so today has been both productive and fun.  It was also a day of especially delicious eats for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

This morning I tried some of that Magical Blueberry Vanilla Chia Seed Jam at breakfast:

Inspired by Angela’s awesome-looking breakfast sandwich, I slathered some natural almond butter on a sprouted grain english muffin followed by a thick coating of jam, and then topped it all off with banana slices.

It didn’t suck.  ;)

After my epi final I had just enough time to whip up the Artichoke & White Bean Dip from Let Them Eat Vegan: artichoke hearts, cannellini beans, red wine vinegar, olive oil, nutritional yeast and more were processed together to become a rich, cheezy, smooth, creamy dip that reminded me of the spinach and artichoke dip I grew up loving.  Except that this one is totally dairy-free and incredibly good for you.  ;)  I had some on my lunchtime salad for an added protein boost:

Spinach, green cabbage, chopped veggies (jicama is my new favorite salad addition- so crisp and cool, slightly sweet and wonderfully crunchy!), green garlic dressing, the artichoke dip, hemp seeds and sea salt.

Amaze:)

I was exhausted by 5pm (water parks will do that) but determined to cook a delicious dinner for myself.  It was slow goin’ in the kitch, but at around 7:30pm I finally sat down to eat what turned out to be an absolutely AMAZING meal:

Daily Garnish’s Pasta with Creamy Vegan Sweet Potato Sauce!

Friggin’ brilliant!  I could not believe how creamy and rich the sauce turned out to be, especially considering that it was made from sweet potato puree and tofu.

Changes I made: I used brown rice spaghetti instead of penne, I used 10 ounces of pasta instead of 16 (my brown rice spaghetti came in a 10-ounce box), and I added a bunch of curly kale sautéed in olive oil with sea salt, black pepper and garlic powder.  FAN-freaking-TASTIC!

Thank goodness for leftovers.  I’ll be digging into this again later in the week (if not tomorrow).  If you’re skeptical about using tofu in a pasta sauce, this is the recipe that will make you a believer.  It pretty much changed my life.  :)

I’m off to watch something ridiculous on tv and eat a cookie.  Have a good night!

XO,

Sara

6 responses »

    • Hi Sara! That jam- oh m’gosh! It’s amazing! From Oh She Glows, it’s the Magical Blueberry Vanilla Chia Seed Jam. (Go make it now!) I think I’m going to try a peach jam next time- I am HOOKED. Plus I just like the word ‘jam.’

Leave a Reply

