September

Standard

Oh, hiya.  So… it’s September.  Yup.  I’ve been mad-busy since starting my internship.  It’s going well, but my schedule is all sorts of wonky and there’s just not enough time to do everything that I want to do.  The day begins at 5am.  I groggily wake up, sip black coffee while checking email (and Facebook, who am I kidding) and then head upstairs to work out at around 5:15.  I hit the shower at 6, start the long process of waking up the tots at 6:30 and by 7 we’re all sitting ’round the table having breakfast.  Out the door by 7:30, first to E’s elementary school (he’s in FIRST GRADE now, holy hell), then to O’s daycare, and then I either head to the office or back home if it’s a work-from-home day (I LUCKED OUT).  Evenings are spent sorting through the ridiculous amount of paperwork that is sent home from school, prepping for the next day (clothes laid out, coffee pot ready to brew, lunches packed), spending quality time with the kids and fixing dinner, which I now eat at 5:30 or so with the kids.  I’m also studying for the CHES exam, so once the kids are in bed you’ll likely find me in my comfy chair with one eye on The Real Housewives of New Jersey and the other eye on my study guide.  I try my best to stay up until 10pm to catch The Office re-runs, but I rarely make it.  And then I get up the next day and do it all over again.

I’m amazed at how quickly I got used to this new schedule.  5am workouts aren’t nearly as bad as I imagined them to be- as long as I have some coffee in me, I’m usually good to go.  I love getting my exercise done first thing so that evenings are free.  I can’t imagine lacing up my sneakers at 5pm when there are kids to wrangle and lunches to pack and wine to drink dinner to make.  I’m glad that I’m able to fit everything in, but blogging has definitely taken a back seat.  I hope to change that in the next few weeks!

I haven’t been baking as much as I used to (I have exactly one cookie left in the freezer- DESSERT CRISIS!) but I’m still making things here and there and whipping up hummus and homemade dressings each weekend.  Yesterday I made Peanut Sesame Hummus from one of Dreena’s cookbooks and also her Peanut Passion Sauce, which I turned into a dressing (both are ridiculously good).  Sadly, I have no pictures to share but I’m pretty sure that y’all know what hummus looks like by now.  ;)

I did, however, snap some pics of the delicious Whole Wheat Banana Peach Muffins that I made a week or two ago:

You should make them, too.

So that’s the scoop, friends.  :)  All of this is exciting and awesome and wonderful, and good things are coming.  Expect more frequent posts going forward- they just might be a lot shorter than they used to be.

I’m off to start dinner: Tamari-roasted Chickpeas, crispy garlic kale and Roasted Cauliflower Tahini SaladMade this meal before and it rocked my face right off.

See ya later!  :D

XO,

Sara

PS- First day of school pics, because EVERYONE WANTS TO SEE MY KIDS LOOK HOW CUTE THEY ARE OH MAH GAH.

Growing up way too fast.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

