Crazy Hair, Link Love & Costume Talk

Standard

Today was crazy hair day at E’s school.  Naturally, O wanted to participate:

When I dropped E off I noticed all the other kids’ crazy ‘dos and realized that some of them looked how my hair looks all the time.  EVERY day is crazy hair day for me.  It’s part straight, part wavy and part kinky-curly, especially the under layers near my neck.  It is completely out of control.

In my mid-twenties I would spend an hour blow-drying  and straight-ironing it EVERY.SINGLE.DAY.

Madness.

As a kid I had no clue that you weren’t supposed to brush curly hair, so I walked around looking like this:

Cringe City

These days it doesn’t seem to matter what kind of styling technique I use- the minute I walk outside my hair rebels and does whatever the heck it wants to anyway, so what’s the point?

Inevitably my unmanageable locks end up being scraped into a messy ponytail at some point over the course of the day:

I’m really low-maintenance when it comes to make-up and the same is definitely true for my hair.  I just can’t be bothered.

How much time do you spend on your hair every morning?

I need help.

***

Enough hair talk- how about a little link love?  Stuff I like from around the Internets, in no particular order:

Speaking of Halloween, what are you and/or your kids dressing up as this year?  I haven’t dressed up in ages but am finally participating in the festivities this year!  I have an especially tragic costume planned for a big party this Saturday, and you’ll just have to wait and see how it all goes down.  I will say that neon green legwarmers are involved.  :D  Pictures forthcoming!  The last time I dressed up was in 2005 when I was pregnant with E- I was a nun.  A pregnant nun.  Yeah.

This year O is going to be The Hulk and E is a freaky zombie dude.  Lets take a look back at their costumes from the past four years:

2008

(before O was born)

2009

2010

2011

I guess I made E wear the same costume two years in a row.  That is both awesome (saves $!) and awful (again!?) at the same time.  That picture of O as an elephant KILLS me!

As a kid I remember dressing up as a “punk rocker” many times.  What a badass.  What was your favorite costume growing up? 

Happy Wednesday!  Halloween is only a week away.  :D

XO,

Sara

9 responses »

  1. All of those Halloween pictures are so sweet, but I gotta say, the elephant costume is my favorite! Also, I love that pic of you from childhood – I have wavy/curly hair, too, & have tons of old photos that look pretty much the same, so I can totally relate ;) I even went through the whole 80’s hair crimping phase, & the gigantic, teased, bangs phase. Not my finest hours!

    These days my hair’s really short – like boy short – so it only takes me 4 minutes to do it in the morning, which is great. Yours is really pretty; I miss putting my hair in a ponytail, as odd as that might sound. So I’m definitely envious!

    PS Thanks for linking to me & for the sweet comments about my blog – you’re way too kind!

    • The Sad Elephant. I might frame that one and put it on the wall. :) I WISH I could do the short cut, but I fear that I’d look like Ronald McDonald or something. It sounds lovely- I’m all about low-maintenance! Maybe I’ll just shave my head one of these days. NO-maintenance. :D Your blog is awesome and I’m so happy that I found it via Instagram! You have a wonderful resource page for leaning toward veganism and tons of great recipes. I had to share!

  2. Their costumes are adorable! :)
    I have really curly hair, so the day I wash it I have to spend about 30 minutes putting all the gel in and drying it. But on the days I don’t wash it, I only spend like 5 minutes. Woohoo!

    • I am jealous that you don’t have to wash it every day! Mine somehow turns frizzy and greasy if I don’t wash it for a day. *sigh* It’s frizzy when I *do* wash it, though, so… I guess it just gets greasy. :(

  3. Gosh, I must remember Halloween this year! It’s a bit random around here. We don’t really celebrate it, but enough kids watch enough American TV, that there always a chance there *might* be trick or treaters. Last year there was not a single one though and therefore I had a bucket of candy to dispose of. As for curly hair, you may observe that my fave little Miss is a very curly girl, She’s got a lot of it and has a forthright approach to making it behave. Any bit that gets in her way, she cuts off, to the horror of her mum. She normally manages to make it look stylish though. When she was with me a lot I only used conditioner on her hair, no shampoo. This worked really nicely, you should try it. It’s the shampoo that causes frizz.

    Well done on sitting your exam, I’m sure you rocked it!

    • I had not considered that option- hair getting in the way? Hand me the scissors! Haha. :) I am SO GLAD my exam is over, but waiting to see if I passed is seriously painful. How are your studies coming? xoxo

  4. I think we must have twin hair! My top layer is straight and then all the underneath hair is curly and the hair closest to my scalp is veryyyyyy curly! It is also always super tangly even right after I use my wide tooth comb on it! I can be completely still and it gets tangly. I have just given up lately and do not do anything to it at all except wash and condition. Then I put on some leave in condition, comb it, attempt to scrunch it up on the non curly parts and hope it gets dry before I get to work!

    • Kim, isn’t going out with still-wet hair the WORST!? Diffusers don’t really work for me, and I have no patience. And my hair takes, like, 3 hours to completely dry. I’ve never met anyone with hair like mine so HELLO, sister from another mister! We can have bipolar hair TOGETHER. :)

  5. Hahaha those Halloween picks are priceless! My Mom and Aunt would make our costumes each year (they were always awesome!) my favorite was a gypsy & when my sister and I dressed up as M & M’s (red & yellow).

    Oh gosh that picture of you with teh crazy hair (the youger pic) reminded me of exactly my hair style all through middle school – I had crazy curly hair growing up (my mom should have invested in no more tangles she used that stuff all the time!) – I am a no fuss can’t be bothered with my hair – I spend maybe 5 minutes the most – a bit of round trip hair product,and it either stays down, side pony/braid/bun or will end up in a pony tail or bun at the end of the day!

Leave a Reply

