Saturday

Standard

The Halloween Block Party is tonight!  *squee*  I probably have no idea what I’m getting myself into and I know I’ll be freezing the whole time, but that’s okay.  I’m pretty sure that’s what whiskey is for.  :D

Recently I made Oh She Glows’ vegan Rolos and also her Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls.

One of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

Both of these exceeded my expectations.  Angela’s stuff is *always* good, but I was seriously floored by how straight-from-the-bowl, cookie dough-like those little balls of heaven tasted.  Magic happens when oats, cashews, maple syrup and chocolate chips come together in the right proportions, friends.  And the Rolos called for only FIVE ingredients!  The date caramel is out of control.  My only complaint would be that neither of these recipes made nearly enough, so my advice to you is to double both recipes from the start.  Keep these babies in the freezer and watch them disappear at lightning speed!

I’m making these next.  :D

Last night I brought dinner to M‘s place.  She had surgery on Tuesday and the weather had just turned cold, so something easy, warm and comforting was in order:

Grilled cheeze sammies made with sprouted grain sourdough from Whole Foods (!), the new (to me) Daiya cheddar cheese and Earth Balance plus store-bought tomato basil soup.  You guys, I don’t eat processed cheeze or faux meat regularly, but this was DYNAMITE.  This Daiya was perfectly gooey and melty and creamy and rich, with a sharp-tangy-salty flavor that neither of us could get enough of.  The soup was pretty good, too, and together this made for one of those meals where a random, “mmm, man” makes it’s way into a good part of your mealtime conversation.

For dessert, I brought along a handful of those cookie dough balls plus a pint of vanilla bean coconut milk ice cream:

Bliss.

We ate this and watched old Sex and the City episodes, and it was pretty much the perfect evening.  M is my favorite and my best.  :)

(Anyone else miss Charlie and Lola?  My absolute favorite kid show EVER.  Yo Gabba Gabba comes in at #2.)

Today I took the kids to Denton’s Day of the Dead festival, which was a lot of fun.

We need to carve pumpkins this weekend!  This year I definitely plan on roasting up a bunch of the seeds, too (dig the sesame seed version!).  Carving pumpkins isn’t exactly my favorite thing in the whole world, but it’s only once a year and of course the kids love it.  I’m not very crafty but I do love digging the pumpkin innards out with my hands!

(Ahem.)

I guess we should make a store run this afternoon to buy some pumpkins, then.  What are you doing this weekend?  If you’re in the area, consider coming out to the big block party!  Here’s a sneak peek at part of my costume:

I’ll be alternating jumping jacks with shots of Jack Daniels to stay warm.  ;)

(Um, anyone want to come over and clean my mirror?  Filthy!)

Happy Weekend!

xo,

Sara

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Partied Out « Inside & Out

  2. OMG The chcolate chip cookie dough balls are AMAZING!!!! I haven’t tried the rolos, but from the sounds of it those are just as good :)

    Hahaha LOVE your costume – hopefully whisky helped you stay toasty :)

Leave a Reply

