Our Vegan Thanksgiving Menu 2012

Standard

After a trip to Trader Joe’s (hello, cheap vino!), a mad dash to Market Street and a dreaded race through Whole Foods (soy whipped cream and pre-made vegan pie crusts FTW!) today, I can finally say that I’m ready for Thanksgiving.  Last year was my first time doing most of the cooking for the occasion and I was still a vegan newbie, so naturally I was thrilled when everything turned out even better than expected.  I’m very excited about our menu for this year and wanted to share it here with you.  I also want to hear what you’ll be cooking/eating tomorrow!

***

Vegan Thanksgiving Menu 2012

Wine, wine and more wine

Daiya Havarti, crackers and hummus for an appetizer

Meaty Vegan Green Bean Casserole (with extra vegan apple-sage sausage thrown in!)

Sweet Potato Casserole with a coconut-maple-pecan topping (I actually just made this up to the baking point today and it took everything I had in me to not eat all the topping with a spoon)

Creamy Vegan Broccoli and Rice Casserole (the rice is cooking as we speak!)

Vegan Pull-Apart Fluffy White Dinner Rolls (my Mom is making these- they were amazing last year)

Cranberry Sauce (Mom is also making this)

Green Salad (sister C is bringing this)

Pumpkin Pie (Mom is making this, too- with a pre-made spelt flour vegan crust)

Vegan Molasses Cookies (sister E is bringing these)

I think we’re also having wine ;)

***

What are you having for Thanksgiving?  I really want to know!

XO,

Sara

5 responses »

  1. Since my 2 year old and I are sick and alone for the holiday we are doing it low stress. I think I’m going to steal the sweet potato casserole idea and tweak it. I’m going to make a gf stuffing with cranberry sauce and a yummy gf pumpkin pie. Lots of sugar and carbohydrates and vino of course.

    • Ah, sorry you’re sick, Dr. J! I, too, am fighting the sniffles but it’s nothing an extra glass of wine can’t fix. ;) Have a happy Thanksgiving! Carbs for all!

  2. What an awesome spread! Haha wine and more wine, love it! So I am a bit late but this was our Tday Menu:
    Roasted Carrot & Sweet Dumpling Bisque
    Cranberry Chutney
    Wild Mushroom, Shallot & Chestnut Stuffing
    Traditional mashed potatoes & gravy
    Cider & brown sugar glazed sweet potatoes
    Garlicky Green Beans
    Roasted Brussel Sprouts with smokey tempeh
    Carnival Squash Stuffed with Wild Rice Pilaf
    Maple herb “butter”
    Farmhouse Rolls
    Mini Pumpkin Bundts
    Petite Cheesecakes
    mini apple pies

    Sparkling Hard apple cider & lots of good beer

Leave a Reply

